Tabbouleh


I’m not quite sure what it is with grains and rice that, at least whenever I make them, there is always a scoop left over.
This scoop, of course, is too big to toss and just big enough not to waste it.

Recently I’ve been revisiting quinoa. I love it! Soft but chewy, a little nutty and it’s so hypnotizing to look at once it cooked with it’s little, spiral fronds. With all this increase in quinoa around here, I have had a few little spoonfuls left over. Up until now I’ve been making great hot dishes from my quinoa, so when I needed a quick refresh, I had a craving for tabbouleh salad. Tabbouleh is a Mediterranean salad typically made with bulgar, parsley and a hint of mint but I had a bit of fennel so why not use up what you’ve got?

Light, fresh and delicious, I think I may just stay on this quinoa kick.

TABBOULEH

4 – 5 Romaine Lettuce Leaves
1 Bunch Flat Leaf Parsley, about 1 cup stemmed and finely chopped
4 Scallions
2 Tablespoons Mint Leaves
3 Tablespoons Fennel Fronds
1 Cup Quinoa, Cooked and cooled
1 Cup Tomatoes, seeded & chopped
1/2 Cup Cucumber, diced

DRESSING

1/4 Cup Lemon Juice
1 Tablespoon Extra Virgin Olive oil
1 Clove Garlic, minced
Pinch of Salt

Whisk the dressing together and set aside.
Wash, seed and dice the tomatoes into 1/4″ – 1/2″ pieces.
Chop the cucumber into a 1/4″ dice.
Chop the lettuce in the bowl of a food processor.
Follow with the scallions and parsley, finishing with the mint and fennel; chop well – everything should end up a uniform size.
Transfer the greens into a large bowl.
Add the quinoa, tomato and cucumber, tossing well to combine.
Pour over the whisked dressing, mixing to coat.
Chill prior to serving.

~ by Dayna on July 10, 2007.

4 Responses to “Tabbouleh”

  1. Dayna, thank you for this recipe. I love both tabbouleh and quinoa.

  2. Great stuff!!!

  3. This looks really good. I love tabbouleh, but haven’t tried any recipes using quinoa. It’s really hot here these days, and your recipe looks very appealing, especially now that I’m feeling so sick of green salads!

  4. Tabouli with quinoa very interesting..I will try it next time..

    Aysegul
    http://www.nysdelight.com

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

