Pumpkin Mushroom & Leek Risotto


With autumn here it’s not to tough to find the cooler weather ingredients. As the farmer’s markets begin the preparation of shutting down for the winter, the fall finds and harvest colours are still filling the tables.

Since Jack-o-Lanterns aren’t very good for eating, I used the Jarrahdale pumpkin left from my day at the patch. Although I didn’t have to worry about the abundance of carving pumpkins flooding the market, I figure a butternut squash may also do in a pinch.

With winds blustering and my grocery bag full, I was set for anything including a challenge.
Upon making my dinner, I was quite excited to read of A Slice of Cherry Pie’s call for my same three ingredients. It seems that shopping locally and celebrating of seasonal food isn’t all that uncommon, so if you too found these great ingredients at your local market, you can check out her round up for this and other great recipes using these wonderful autumn finds.


PUMPKIN MUSHROOM & LEEK RISOTTO

1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
1 Leek, white and green part, finely chopped
2 Cloves Garlic, minced
1/4 Cup Dried Mushrooms, Chanterelle, Porcini or Portabella
2 3/4 Cups Water
1/2 Cup Arborio Rice
1/2 Cup Roasted Pumpkin*, diced
2 Tablespoons Dry Vermouth
1/3 Teaspoon Salt
1/2 Teaspoon Thyme leaves
1/4 Teaspoon Rosemary, finely minced

*The pumpkin I used was a Jarrahdale. Sweet and smooth, it’s also great for baking. It’s a medium to large pumpkin so I knew I would have leftovers.
To roast, half, seed and slice the pumpkin into 1″ crescents.
Lightly coat, spray with vegetable oil or put a small amount of water to cover the bottom of the baking dish.
Cover with aluminum foil and roast for 1 1/2 hours at 350ºF or until soft and tender.
Remove the skin and roughly chop.

Heat the water and reconstitute the mushrooms for 15 – 20 minutes. Strain and reserve both the mushrooms and water.
Heat the oil in a medium stock pot.
Add the leek and garlic to soften; about 3 minutes.
Pour over the vermouth and cook for another 2 -3 minutes to evaporate the alcohol.
Add arborio, stirring to coat and toast for about 1 minute.
Pour over about 1 Cup of the strained liquid, stirring well until absorbed repeating with another cup and stirring.
Stir in the last of the water, salt, herbs and the cubed pumpkin.
Test the rice for tenderness, it should be al dente.
Chop and add reserved mushrooms.
Taste and adjust seasoning as necessary.

Serves 2.

~ by Dayna on October 26, 2007.

9 Responses to “Pumpkin Mushroom & Leek Risotto”

  1. Holy moly that looks delicious! A fun garnish might be to toast some of the smaller pumpkin seeds and put them on top for a little crunch.

  2. okay, this risotto is IT. this is what I need to consume on these cold, dreary, rainy autumn days – yum!!!

  3. Yum, it’s nice to have leek instead of onion for a change! I keep forgetting that risotto is vegan but it’s a useful one to remember (so long as it is a nice one like yours, not the sad several times reheated mushroom risotto you so often get as the veggie option in restaurants)

  4. Dayna, risottos are my #1 favorite dish, I would have seconds and thirds here, never mind my good manners! :)

  5. oh yum yum. i might just make this tonight!

  6. This recipe looks great.

    Did you cook with skins on and then remove whilst cubing?

  7. Yes, I did. I found that some pumpkins were a real trial to peel so, roasting not only added to it’s flavour, it made it much easier to prepare.
    I checked the pumpkin while it roasted for tenderness. Once done, maybe a little softer than al denté, I removed it.
    As soon as it was cool enough to maneuver, I discarded the skins and roughly chopped what I had before dropping it into the risotto at the very end.
    Note that there are recipes that will call for peeled, cubed pumpkin to be added at the beginning once the leeks have softened. This will leave a firmer pumpkin to cook along with the rice.
    I guess it depends what you want your end texture to be.

  8. Did you really mean only half a cup of pumpkin? Seems a very small amount to roast.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

