Easy Caramelized Onion and Fennel Tart


Considering it’s chilly, I couldn’t help but to think warm.
So when Jeanne, over at Cook Sister told me to go topless, I thought, well, that’s cheeky, it’s November.

All snickers aside, I grabbed for the freezer door to find my handy pack of puff pastry. So quick and flaky, it’s this stuff that will elevate any old tart to elegant center showpiece.

While my pastry thawed, I promised not to rush the onions, even after they made me cry. Delicious as they were, the addition of fennel made for a scrumptious tart with a simple depth of flavour.

So if you’ve found yourself with sudden guests or your mother in law is in the neighbourhood, dropping by for lunch, here’s something quick that never fails to impress.

EASY CARAMELIZED ONION AND FENNEL TART

2 Red Onions, peeled and sliced
1 Fennel Bulb
1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
1 Tablespoon Margarine
Pinch Salt and Pepper, to taste
2 – 3 Sprigs of Thyme, stems removed
1/2 Package Frozen Puff Pastry, 5″ square*

Slice the onions into thin rings.
Heat the oil in a large sauté pan over a medium – high heat then add the margarine to melt.
Add the onions, salt and pepper.
Sauté, reducing the heat to medium, stirring occasionally until soft; 1o – 12 minutes.
Remove fennel fronds and root end. Slice it in half and again into 1/2″ slivers.
Add the fennel and thyme to the onions, continuing to sauté until the onions are golden and the fennel is tender.
If the onions begin to stick, add a small amount of water to loosen them from the bottom of the pan while stirring.
Adjust salt and pepper, if necessary.
Preheat the oven to 350ºF.
Roll out the puff pastry to fit an 8″ tart pan.
Spoon in the caramelized onions and fennel evenly.
Bake for 20 minutes or until the pastry is crisp, flaky and golden.

May be served warm or chilled.

* Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry is vegan.

~ by Dayna on November 25, 2007.

15 Responses to “Easy Caramelized Onion and Fennel Tart”

  1. Yum! I am loving the Topless theme and seeing the different tarts/pies that are being posted. I really like your combination of onions, fennel and thyme. Has my imagination stirring.

  2. Anything with puff pastry makes me hungry and happy, Dayna – delicious choice of filling!

  3. beautiful! I know what I’m impressing the family with this december!

  4. oh yeah, this is so my thing!

  5. hahaha, this whole “topless tart” event that many bloggers are taking part in is quite fun!! your savory caramelized onion & fennel tart is quite classy, considering it’s “topless” ;0)

  6. I can tell I haven’t visited your blog in far too long. This looks wonderful! I may have to get myself some of that puff pastry.

  7. You inspired me once again. I made the same tart after seeing yours, but mine is not vegan. I used grapeseed oil, butter, red onion, leeks, fennel and maple syrup. YUM!

  8. Hi There!

    This dish looks amazing. I’ve never been a big fan of fennel, but I think I just might have to try it out now. Thanks!
    Ricki

  9. This looks like exactly what I feel like eating! Fennel and onion is one of my latest favourite combos – throw in puff pastry and I’m yours for keeps :) Thanks for overcoming your inhibitions and daring to go topless this month…

  10. This looks lovely! Fennel is a sadly underused vegetable in my opinion

  11. Fennel and red onions – isn’t that a match made in heaven? Still I’ve never used them together in a pie. This one is going into my to-do list (which already has like a thousand other onion tarts) :)

  12. Autumn has only just visited our part of the world and I made your tart last week. It was lovely – thanks for the recipe, Dayna!

  13. I have some brioche dough left and was looking for a savoury tart – this one looks perfect!

  14. I have to say that while I loved the idea of the red onion and fennel, this recipe is more a starting point as the flavors just seemed flat. In addition to the thyme, I added some rubbed dried sage, a little less than 1/4 white wine, about a tsp of dijon mustard, a little lemon zest and a hint of nutmeg.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

