Roasted Red Pepper Soup


Needless to say we all like soup in this house. Nothing beats a warm bowl on a cold day. Well, maybe that warm bowl with some of that fresh bread I’ve finally been able to be baking…

Red peppers, to me, are one of those amazing vegetables. You see, I absolutely, without a doubt hate it’s cousin the green pepper, but a red one, especially a freshly roasted one? I will put in and on just about everything.

Roasting the peppers take about as long as the soup, so it’s a quick and delicious lunch…. So quick, I was very glad to have photographed it first, since the pot did not last.

ROASTED RED PEPPER SOUP

1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
3 Shallots, finely chopped
1 Clove Garlic, minced
3 Red Bell Peppers, roasted*, peeled and chopped
1 Potato, peeled and diced
2 Carrots, peeled and chopped
1 Stalk Celery
2 Tomatoes, Peeled and chopped, 1 – 8oz can
4 Cups Vegetable Broth
1/2 teaspoon Crushed Dried Thyme
1/4 teaspoon Salt and Freshly Ground Black Pepper, to taste

* To roast the peppers, lay them directly over an open flame of a gas cooktop, BBQ or under the broiler, turning often to evenly blacken – but not scorch. Cool in a large enough bowl to hold them, tightly covered with plastic wrap. Once cool enough to handle, peel and rub away the loose, blackened skin.

Peel and dice the shallots, carrots and potato.
Heat the oil in a large stockpot and add the diced vegetables and garlic to sweat and soften.
Seed and slice the peeled, roasted peppers.
Add the peppers and celery stalk along with the broth to the vegetables.
Bring to a simmer and cook until potatoes and carrots are soft.
Add thyme, salt and pepper.
Remove celery stalk and discard.
Add the chopped tomatoes and heat through.
Purée with a hand immersion blender until smooth.
Adjust seasoning, if necessary.

Serve with toasted fresh bread or arugula pesto or garlic seasoned croutons.

~ by Dayna on January 15, 2008.

9 Responses to “Roasted Red Pepper Soup”

  1. The soup looks amazing, Dayna (I’m sure it did not last. I completely understand why). ;)

  2. Looks super tasty! I’ll have to try your recipe soon.

  3. Dayna, very nice recipe! I made roasted pepper and cauliflower soup some time ago, it was delicious! I must try yours… Margot

  4. this looks like summer!
    I’m trying to make friends with the green cousin at the moment…

  5. Fantastic recipe and awesome photos!!! Thanks for posting.

  6. the bread toast floaters look equally good to the soup

  7. That looks amazing! I have seen a few excellent red pepper and tomato soups lately, it must be a sign!

  8. This looks wonderful. I also love roasted red peppers and feel it gives the food a different flair than the green pepper. I do use the green pepper but often find myself changing to a red pepper if a recipe calls for green. I also have a vegan blog. If you feel it is of interest could you please add me to your blog roll. Thank you. And I will be trying your soup.

  9. Is this a winter soup? I have to do a winter soup for school, and this looks delicious! But I have to a winter soup… so I hope this counts as one.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

