Red Grapefruit Curd Filled Donuts



Heading out with the intention to create a citrusy tart flecked with the essence of rosemary or cardamom, I started out with a super red grapefruit curd for the filling. Anyone who reads here regularly, might have noticed I’m a bit of a red grapefruit junky. I’ll slip it into dishes where ever it fits. Heck, I even bathe in the stuff.

Being amongst the world’s best doughnut eaters, not that I would necessarily know, of course but what can I say? I’m Canadian. Those little slurps here and a spoonfully nibble there of the grapefruit curd, reminded me of a fresher, livelier version of the sweet lemony filling squeezed out as the best part of a filled doughnut. Petite tarts of fanciness were sent to the back burner as I set out to create a canuck worthy doughnut.

Updating that simple, lemony filling to this, little more grown up, less of a drive-thru flavour was supurb with a little dusting of sugar and a hot morning cup of coffee. It was so sinfully wonderful to have to admit that vegan food isn’t always healthy but certainly scrumptious.

As the January resolutions met their match, I realised I’m not the only one who’s given up a diet for some February grease. Helen from Tartlette and Peabody have teamed up for a donut fry fest; this, my friends should be good.

RED GRAPEFRUIT CURD

1 Cup Freshly Squeezed Red Grapefruit juice
1 Cup Granulated Sugar
1/2 Cup Cold Water
4 Tablespoon Corn Starch
1/8 teaspoon Salt
Zest of Grapefruits, well washed before grating
1/4 Cup Soymilk
2 Tablespoons Margarine

In a large saucepan, whisk together the juice and sugar, heating through over a medium high setting
Dissolve the cornstarch in the cold water and salt.
Once the juice and sugar have just come to a boil, add the cornstarch mixture.
Reduce the heat to medium and whisk, stirring constantly, until it comes to a full boil.
Add zest.
Allow to boil for 1 minute, without stirring; it should be quite thick.
Remove from heat.
Blend in the margarine, then soymilk, with the whisk.
Cool the curd, cover and refrigerate.

YEAST DOUGHNUTS

1 Cup Soy Milk, warmed
1/2 teaspoon Sugar
1 Tablespoon Instant Yeast (1 packgae)
1/2 Package Medium Silken Tofu, room temperature (225g)
1/3 Cup Sugar
1/4 teaspoon Salt
3 1/2 Cup All Purpose Flour, plus more for dusting
1/4 Cup Shortening, (vegetable oil may be substituted)

Warm the soy milk so it is tepid but not hot to the touch.
Add the 1/2 teaspoon sugar and yeast granules, stirring to combine and dissolve.
Let the yeast rest to prove, for 5 – 10 minutes or until bubbled and frothy.

Meanwhile, drain and blend the tofu in a food processor until very smooth.
In a medium saucepan, gently heat and whisk together the blended tofu, shortening, salt and remaining sugar.
Once combined, remove from the heat and add the dissolved yeast mixture.
Using an stand mixer, or by hand, add 3 cups of the flour to the bowl and with the dough hook, or a wooden spoon, add the warmed ingredients to create a soft, but not sticky ball of dough, adding more flour as necessary.
Transfer the dough to a large, slightly oiled bowl and cover.
Leave it in a warm place until it has doubled in bulk.
Move the dough to a lightly floured surfaced and with a flour dusted rolling pin, stretch the dough into about a 12″x9″ rectangle.
Using a glass or a biscuit cutter, cut the dough into rounds and leave, covered on a dusted baking sheet for about 40 minutes to rise.
In a large saucepan, heat 3″ – 4″ of oil. Using a candy thermometer, bring the temperature to 350ºF – 365ºF.
Once the oil is heated, carefully drop 2 – 3 of the risen, cut donuts, one at a time into the hot oil, being sure not to overcrowd the pan.
Using a slotted spoon, regularly flip the donuts until golden brown; about 3 minutes or 90 seconds per side.
Lift the donuts and let the excess oil drip before transferring to a brown bag or paper towel lined cooling rack.
Repeating to cook the donuts.
Once the donuts are cool enough to handle, using a long handled skewer or chopstick, poke a hold and make a space in the center of the donut for filling.
Using a piping bag with a large holed tip, pipe in the red grapefruit curd to fill.
Dust the filled donuts with confectioners sugar just prior to serving.

Makes about a bakers dozen.

~ by Dayna on January 31, 2008.

24 Responses to “Red Grapefruit Curd Filled Donuts”

  1. Amazing Dayna! I love citrus…I might have to make those this weekend! Beautiful pictures as always! Thanks for your entry!

  2. Ah, these are gorgeous Dayna! I love the idea of some that grapefruit bite in a doughnut.

  3. These look and sound fabulous! They must taste amazing, and so original, nice work.

  4. Oh wow. Those look delicious! Lovely photos! Thanks for the recipe! I like that you made these on a skillet instead of a deep fryer :]

  5. Oh, Dayna. I have just come back from lunch and had no dessert… This is driving me nuts, I love citrus flavors!

  6. thanks for sharing! these look awesome.

  7. These look fantastic. I love grapefruit in anything; putting it in donuts is brilliant!

  8. Beautiful and so unusual :)
    I had one donut today… it is Fat Thursday in Poland but not here in UK.. but there will be Pancake Day soon…
    Have a good day, Margot

  9. Yum – this looks so good! Do you think it would work well with blood orange as well?

  10. this is by far one of the most innovative donut-varieties I have EVER seen – grapefruit curd filling?? brilliant!!

  11. I think this would be great with blood oranges. A little less tangy but the colour would be quite something!
    Any extras would be fantastic in tartlettes or slathered on a scone.

  12. These sound incredible!

  13. Oh, those look AMAZING!! I think there is a severe lack of grapefruit-flavored baked goods out there, and it’s nice that people are starting to rectify this grave injustice against the grapefruit.

  14. ohmygoodness! That is all I can even say right now. Honestly, those things look like I would risk my life for just one bite!
    mmmmm Thank you SO SO SO SO MUCH for that fabulous recipe!

  15. Oh, my goodness, I wish you would send me some of these. I eat red grapefruit like they’re going out of style! Wow, I’m in complete awe.

  16. These are gorgeous! What a creative combination of flavors… I want grapefruit curd right now!

  17. WOW, these look amazing!

    i just joined the DB this month too, just checking out everyone else’s blogs, wanted to say hello :)

  18. What a great idea to make grapefruit curd! Love it.

  19. The fllling for these donuts looks terrific. The red grapefruit is so beautiful.

  20. These sound like my kind of thing! I would love to make the grapefruit curd. Sounds delicious!!

  21. My mom and I finally got around to making these the other night and they were absolute heaven!! Went perfect with our junky meal of loaded sandwiches and soy cheese pizzas. Your pictures are beautiful by the way!

  22. Omg…I can’t even put into words how amazing these are! I kept eating the filling before I even made the actual donut part! These are soooooooo good and the filling was so unique! Much better than the traditional raspberry filling!

  23. I am making these tonight! I have never tried making any homemade donuts besides baked ones (which turned out more like muffins…), so I am suuuuper excited to try these.

  24. These were really awesome! The donuts themselves were light, fluffy, and perfectly flaky on the inside, and I loved the grapefruit curd! I filled some of the donuts with a vegan chocolate pastry creme, which was great, as well.

    Thanks for an amazing recipe!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

