Daring Baker’s Challenge: Julia Child’s French Bread


Some readers might remember my super wonderful Xmas gift which freed me from the confines of a toaster oven. Well, since then I’ve not only been making muffins by more than the 1/2 dozen, I’ve finally done what I’ve been meaning to do for ages and that’s to join the Daring Bakers.

Having to wait out those fantastic looking meringue pies from last month, I was delighted at this month’s announcement: Classic, Julia Child French Bread.

Nothing fancy, no additions. I honestly just wanted to bake it and bask in it’s golden crisp glory. Basic and beautiful like newborn babies, Natalie Portman without make-up or the last of a summer’s day when the sun sinks into a lake in the Northhumberland Highlands. Four simple ingredients which together, have nourished billions. Yeasty, chewy and crisp, with a crust that can leave a scar if not treated with the respect it deserves.

I’ve made bread before, but this being my first go at a Daring Baker’s challenge, I certainly took it very seriously. I in no way wanted to botch or bastardize the instructions handed down by The Julia Child, and it was so worth it.
I mixed and waited and timed and pinched. I stretched, weighed down, flipped and scored, but most of all, I took my time, the bread’s time and it was so, so worth it.

Sometimes simple is perfect.

You can get the detailed instructions from one of this month’s leaders, i like to cook.

Really, go bake some now….

~ by Dayna on February 29, 2008.

17 Responses to “Daring Baker’s Challenge: Julia Child’s French Bread”

  1. Beautiful! Every picture I see of this bread is fabulous. =)

  2. Nice to have a recipe not needing any modifications to make it vegan, right? I love your photography as well. Nice job all around.

  3. What great photos to go along with your bread! You did a phenomenal job! Congratulations on completing your first DB challenge. Welcome to the Daring Bakers!

  4. Whoa your bread looks great! I’m so glad you got an oven that works!

  5. So beautiful, so crusty, so amazing, you did so well, congratulation to you chef!!!

  6. You got yourself some great looking bread there!

  7. Fantastic bread! Thanks for baking with Sara and I

  8. Beautiful bread!

  9. Your bread looks amazing!

  10. Congratulations on completing your first challenge and in such style. Your bread looks wonderful.

  11. sounds like fun

  12. Your loaves look fantastic! It really does pay to go slowly with bread and take all the steps…simple, but still demanding. Glad you did such a great job with your first challenge & glad you are a Daring Baker!

  13. Wonderful looking bread!! and your first challenge..fantastic!!

  14. Your bread looks amazing! I can’t believe I totally spaced on this challenge! I suck!

    Anyway, you mentioned on my blog that you wanted to join the blogroll – you can, even if you have a wordpress.com blog
    Just follow this link to register: http://www.leftoverqueen.com/the-foodie-blogroll

  15. Nice looking bread. Great photos!

  16. Your bread is looking so good! Congrats on your first challenge, isn’t this so much fun?

  17. Wow, they look just perfect!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 98 other followers

