Favourite Things Dinner


Yesterday was my daughter’s birthday. It’s become a bit of a tradition and now her birthday dinner consists of her year’s list of favourite things. Apps, entrée, sides, beverage, heck, even the dinner music is chosen by said truly. Amazing thing is that the family lines up for it, listens to Raffi or Death Cab for Cutie and holds out their plates with a smile.

What was on the menu this year? We’ll pretty much the standard of the previous ones; Carrot sticks, chocolate soy milk, “Ringalos” (which were new for this year), strawberry shortcake and her BFF (bestest favourite forever): Mac and Cheese.

Since there are usually guest and family members for her birthday, this is of course the vegan version. I’ve seen dozens of version some which include cashews or tofu but I’d decided on a version that about as close to the real thing as you can get… just without the shredded cheese… or cream.

CHEESELESS MACARONI N’ CHEESE

250g Elbow Macaroni, about 1/2 Lb
1 Tablespoon Margarine, or butter
1 1/2 Tablespoons All Purpose Flour
1 3/4 Cups Plain Soy Milk
2 bay leaves
2 Cloves Garlic, peeled and broken with the side of a chef’s knife
Scant 1/2 teaspoon Salt, or to taste
1/8 teaspoon Tumeric Powder
Pinch Cayenne Pepper, to taste
1/4 teaspoon Garlic Powder
1 Tablespoon Nutritional Yeast Flakes

Cook the pasta as to package directions to el dente.
Drain, rinse and set aside.
Warm the milk over a low heat and add the bay leaves and garlic.
In a medium saucepan, melt the margarine then sprinkle over the flour mixing well to combine and smooth to make a roux.
Strain the milk and whisk into the flour mixture.
Add the spices and salt, continuing to whisk occasionally to remove any chance of lumps until saucy thick and smooth.
Pour over drained pasta, stirring to coat.

~ by Dayna on April 16, 2008.

11 Responses to “Favourite Things Dinner”

  1. I’m making more and more vegan food but haven’t plucked up the courage to try faking cheese yet. This definitely looks tasty!

  2. Being somewhat of a whole foods person, I’m not really into faking anything. I Think of this sauce more like a savoury bechamél. The spices and especially the nutritional yeast flakes lend to that tart nuttiness from traditional cheese sauces.
    It’s kid tested (and passed) by a true KD lover.

  3. That mac looks so good and creamy! I’d be asking for it too.

  4. Interesting! I can make it vegan for a friend!

  5. Happy birthday to your daughter! What a coincidence–my daughter also chose vegan mac and cheese for her birthday on the 15th. Yours looks delicious!

  6. Yum!! When I say your photo I thought to myself that Mac and Cheese has to be the ultimate comfort food. So, it was a huge surprise to read there is no cheese in the dish. What a shock, it looks amazing. Thank you for sharing!

  7. I’ve never let lactose intolerance stop me from indulging in dairy, but I may have to give this a try:-)

  8. Mac and Cheese is my favorite!!

    Global Warming Alarmists Beware… http://www.EvilCarbon.com

  9. I tried this last night and it was AMAZING! i love that it had no soy, or any other fake dairy (with all those chemicals) and still tasted creamy and cheesy. it was a hit with the whole family! :) cant wait to make it again!!

  10. wow this is awesome am gona try it

  11. I was very skeptical about this recipe but this turned out AMAZING! This is my favorite mac and cheese recipe now! I’m sure it would taste even better if I use non-vanilla soy milk next time, lol!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

