Bicerin



Or should I aptly rename it: An Introduction to My New Best Friend Michelle.
Michelle hosts the blog Sugar and Spice and sent me the most wonderful package.

You see, there’s this lovely event that takes place amongst some bloggers, so nicely organized by Stephanie at Dispensing Happiness. “Blogging By Mail” matches bloggers from around the globe to send a little something about where they’re from, their common culinary ingredients and their most favourite things. As my package was en route to Amrita in Singapore, Michelle was busy travelling from home to home town to jam pack the parcel she was preparing for lucky, little ol’ me.

Inside there were stuffed olives, beautiful fabric for me use in pictures, gouda, fruit snacks, ginger chews, note cards, Jordan Almonds and the cutest Heinz ketchup bottle, that I’ve always wanted but never had the courage to steal while on vacation in the States.:)

…And the chocolate, chocolate chocolate! As I pulled the items from what seemed to be my bottomless box of complete generosity, I found bars, sauce, biscotti, chocolate pretzels and it perfect breakfast match, coffee!!

As I drank my freshly ground Joe, I flipped through The Chocolate Deck, which Michelle also included!
It’s a deck of chocolate recipes so fantastically photographed by William Meppem and written by a former editor of Gourmet, Lori Longbotham. I was truly inspired by some of the recipes. Some for their beauty, others for their simplicity. Like this one; Bicerin.

Bicerin is described to have been a cafe favourite in Turin, Italy during the nineteenth century. Still enjoyed, it looked good and sounded better, plus with the help of Michelle, I had pretty much all the best ingredients to give my inspiration a go.

BICERIN
(as Adapted From Lori Longbotham)

2 Cups Plain Soy Milk
2 Cups Strongly Brewed, Hot Coffee
3 Ounces Bittersweet or Semisweet Chocolate, finely chopped
3 Tablespoons Sugar, or to taste
1/4 teaspoon Orange Flower Water, optional
or
2 Tablespoons Grand Marnier, optional

Over a medium heat, warm the soy milk to a low simmer and remove just before it begins to boil.
Meanwhile, in a heatproof pitcher, pour the hot coffee over the chopped chocolate and sugar, whisking until smooth.
Whisk the milk and Grand Marnier or orange blossom water, if using.
Taste and adjust sweetness, adding more if necessary.

Serves 4 – 6

~ by Dayna on April 20, 2008.

6 Responses to “Bicerin”

  1. What a lovely package to recieve. I think the fabric was a nice touch, only a food blogger would think of that! I like the sound of the bicerin. I don’t like coffee, but I would be willing to give this a go, sounds yum!

  2. I’m so glad that you enjoyed this package, I had so much fun putting it together for you!! Enjoy everything! :)

  3. Dear Dayna, came here, in TURIN and taste with us a cup of Bicerin , here http://www.flickr.com/photos/untoccodizenzero/98708456/
    Bye dear, here in Turin,it’s raining and raininig
    p.s.I love your shot!

  4. what a fantastic package of goodies!!!

  5. Oh dear, I may have to break my no coffee regime to make the Bicerin.

    The package looks lovely BTW, what a wonderful event to be apart of.

  6. What a wonderful package you received. So many yummy foods.

    Natalie @ Gluten a Go Go

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

