Little House On The Prairie.


Posting a school snack might be cutting it close but we began running out of the packable snacks. With a mere three days of school remaining for us, I was not about to run out and restock with packages, so I decided to make my own. Now of course I was prepared to catch flack for this. Since making bread at 1am the other day, (we were out & I knew I’d be too lazy to go to the store) I heard this: “We don’t live on the Little House On The Prairie, you know? Stores where they have jam, butter and bread are some of the many modern conveniences of the 21st century.”

And that’s from my husband. Cute.

My daughter has someone with a peanut allergy in her class, so keeping that in mind I had to get these to stick together with out anything nutty. The second strategy was actually getting the kid to eat them, so I tried to replicate the “original” that she’s used to; chewy, with chocolate and rice crisps.

Third, get them by her little brother and into the snack bag for school.

Wha? Thought I wasn’t looking because I had a camera over my eye, didn’t you? Caught ya.

I’ll warn you, these are sweet, but the kids, they li -iiike them!

NUT-FREE CHEWY GRANOLA BARS

2 Cups Old Fashioned Oatmeal
1 Cup Rice Krispies
1/2 teaspoon Salt
1/2 Cup Unsweetened Shredded Coconut
1/2 Cup Safflower Oil
1/2 Cup Agave Nectar
1/4 Cup Brown Rice Syrup
1/4 Cup Brown Sugar
1/2 Cup Dried Cranberries, or cherries or cherry flavoured cranberries
1/3 Cup Chocolate Chips

Preheat the oven to 350ºF.
Spray a 9″ x 12″ Pyrex baking dish with oil.
Combine the oatmeal, Rice Krispies, coconut, cranberries and salt in a large mixing bowl.
Heat the agave, rice syrup, brown sugar and oil in a small saucepan until it just begins to boil.
Pour over the waiting oat mixture and mix well to coat.
Stir in chocolate chips last, so they won’t melt.
With clean, greased hands, press the mixture into the prepared pan.
Bake for 15 minutes.
Remove from the oven to cool slightly. Cut into bars while still warm
Cool completely before individually wrapping.

Makes 12 bars.

~ by Dayna on June 20, 2008.

12 Responses to “Little House On The Prairie.”

  1. Haha, that quote from your husband is hilarious :0D Those bars look/sound delicious!!

  2. Hi hi i do agree with your hubby, but then home made are the best. But baking by 1 am
    Love the snack really healthy.
    I have to admit i only have till now bought from the shope. But I am going to make these.

  3. mmm, looks tasty!

  4. Oooh, these sound great! I’d love to replicate the chocolate chip Quaker bars I used to eat.

  5. Have I ever told you how incredibly rad your blog is??
    love it!

  6. When making the recipe, I discovered I had only 1/4 cup of agave, so I compensated by upping the brown rice syrup to 1/2 cup. It came out gooey and delicious, but it wouldn’t stay together. We ate it out of the baking dish but were hoping to use them as snacks at work. I didn’t realize agave and brown rice syrup were so different. Thanks for a delicious recipe. :)

  7. Thank you! I’ve been looking for a recipe like this and didn’t have the creativity to invent it on my own!

  8. This looks awesome – I’ve been wanting to make my own with ages!

  9. Thanks for the recipe. My 4 year old is allergic to peanuts, tree nuts, dairy…thanks for coming up with something we can try that is safe and less expensive than some premade organic bars.

  10. I had the same problem with only having the rice syrup. So we got granola, rather than just granola bars.

  11. I don’t have brown rice syrup, but I do have raw agave nectar. Hopefully Kroger will have the brown rice syrup cuz I won’t be traveling to WF for awhile.
    To get them to hold together, I’ve found that I really needed something sticky. I know it’s gauche, but corn syrup would do in a pinch too.

  12. Thank you for a great recipe. If i had a dollar for every time my husband said the something to notion of my cooking and living on the prairie I’d be rich!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

