Pomegranate Blueberry Bran Muffin


With all the driving I’ve done over the past week or so, I can’t even begin to express my fondness for finding an occasional Starbucks instead of a McDonald’s along the way.

I mean, what could be better that 9 hours of driving with a Venti Soy Macchiato and a bran muffin? Yup, I live dangerously.

Now I’m home and can get my crazy fix by the dozen.

POMEGRANATE BLUEBERRY BRAN MUFFINS

1/2 Cup Pomegranate Juice
2/3 Cup Soy Milk
1/2 Cup Blueberry Soy Yogurt, or plain would do in a pinch
1/3 Cup Safflower Oil
1/2 Cup Brown Sugar, slightly packed
2 Cups Bran
1 Cup Self Rising Pastry Flour
1/4 teaspoon Salt
1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
1 Cup Fresh Blueberries, washed & picked over for stems

Preheat the oven to 375ºF.
In a saucepan, bring the pomegranate juice to a boil and reduce by about half. (About 5 minutes total.)
Remove the juice from the heat and cool while you combine the milk, yogurt, oil and brown sugar in a large bowl.
Add the bran, flour, salt, soda and blueberries to the wet ingredients, then pour over the pomegranate juice, mixing just to moisten.
Lightly spray a large muffin tin and generously spoon in the batter.
Bake until firm and browned, about 20 – 25 minutes.
Let them cool slightly in the pan before turning out to a rack.

Makes 12 muffins.

~ by Dayna on June 26, 2008.

7 Responses to “Pomegranate Blueberry Bran Muffin”

  1. These are far better than the ones you had in your car, Dayna, I’m sure!

  2. 9 hours of driving?? Eek!! You definitely deserve that caffeine-fix and these scrumptious-looking muffins!!

  3. Mmmm…I love bran muffins, blueberries, and pomegranate. It must be like heaven in a muffin cup! I can’t wait to try these out. And I hear ya on the 9 hours in a car – I’m from Texas so we’re used to driving good stretches, but when I drive home for the holidays from school, it’s a whooping 12 hours! If only it were cheaper to fly the pooches…

  4. I think I’m going to make a batch of these for my road trip this week. Delicious!

  5. This looks really delish…

  6. Hi Dayna. Made these muffins today and just sinking my teeth into one now. Delicious!
    Yay! These are one of my favourites! I hope you guys enjoy them while you cozy up with some tea to get out of all this snow.

  7. Just made these – sooo good! Thanks for the recipe – I’ll bookmark this!
    Thank you! I’m so glad you enjoyed them!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

