Rose Infused Syrup


I don’t like roses, but when we bought this house there were countless bushes of heirloom Old Fashioned’s, indicating there was once someone who did.

Over the years, I’ve tried everything to pull out, mame and kill these prickly bastards. Harsh words for a little flower but these buggers would come back hardier no matter how roughly I chiseled away at their roots.

Can’t beat ‘em join them as it is said so, I finally found a good use for them…

ROSE PETAL SYRUP

1 Cup Sugar
1 Cup Water
Petals of 2 Roses

Choose roses which are in bloom, being sure they are from your own garden or otherwise organic source.
Pluck the fresh petals and rinse lightly to remove any debris, if necessary.
In a large saucepan, dissolve the sugar into the water.
Add the rose petals and bring the syrup to a rolling simmer.
After about 15 -20 minutes, the syrup should be aromatic and the petals should be mostly translucent.
Remove the saucepan from the heat to cool.
Strain the syrup with a mesh strainer to use and store refrigerated, in a clean jar with a tight fitting lid.

~ by Dayna on July 9, 2008.

5 Responses to “Rose Infused Syrup”

  1. this sounds amazing! – now i’ve got to find some roses – maybe one of my neighbors wouldn’t miss a few….. ;-)
    i just stumbled onto your site tonight looking for a spinach pasta & that was 30 minutes ago! great site! – great recipes! – thank you!

  2. What a neat idea! I can smell it now…

  3. Love the recipe. I’m currently using a Lebanese rose syrup, but it’s a bit pricey. Now I can DIY. Two uses for it: Rose Gimlet: 2 oz gin, 1/2 oz rose syrup and 2-3 dashes of bitters, or a Rose Collins: 2 oz gin, 1 oz fresh lemon juice. 1/2 – 1 oz rose syrup, top with sparkling water.

  4. I know this is an old recipe for you (I don’t even know whether or not you are still ‘blighted’ by those unwanted roses…. Personally, it’s only in bouquet form that I dislike roses — I love the live rose bush, just never give me a dozen reds, unless you want to drive me away…), but I am wondering if you have developed any other uses for the rose syrup? I have a tendency to fall in love with exotic condiments that have no ready use — there were the shelves of preserved lemons that I never opened despite the hours spent slicing, salting and stuffing them into jars. They did make pretty centerpieces…. At least I use the enormous bottle of homemade limoncello to intensify my lemon sorbet — is the rose syrup destined for an equally narrow application?
    Really? That’s too bad.
    The lemons are awesome with tofu, in salad dressings, with steamed artichokes… Limoncello can always be shared! It lasts for a long time and you can put it in to smaller bottles when you make it so you can give it for gifts. Try it with lemonade over ice, or freeze it for a granita.
    Same with the rose syrup! Freeze it. Try it with ginger or raspberry. Mix it into a cake or icing.
    Let your imagination soar!

  5. Now that you tweaked my curiosity about the uses for the rose syrup, I did a quick search. I thought I would pass on this link to a clearly rose-obsessed blogger with an enormous list of rose recipes: http://suzette.typepad.com/the_joy_of_soup/2003/05/rose_petal_reci.html. The scones sound particularly veganizable (and delicious) to me.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

