Rose Infused Strawberry Sorbet


Surrounded by strawberry season, I over thoughtfully tired my search for something outstanding and creative to present for more than just shortcake post of yesteryear.

I mean, don’t get me wrong, strawberry shortcake is such a classic it’s even got a scented doll named after it — I just wanted more. Unconventional combinations like balsamic, basil and black pepper have been surfacing for some time. and recently, I was confronted with a pastry chef’s attempt at combining all three. Not something I wanted to re-create, unfortunately.

I could have almost come full circle with homage to most people’s Nanas’ Summer Strawberry Pie but let me tell you, it’s been so hot and muggy these past couple of days, just the idea of boiling water made me want to sweat.

Naturally in this heat, only Yours Truly would hit the strawberry patch at high noon. There’s something pretty spectacular about sneaking a warm, so perfectly ripe summer strawberry. Even tasting like the homemade jam it will soon become, I couldn’t help imagining a slip n’ slide ride to get my overheated self back to the stifling car.

I’ve guessed that my designated, appropriately red, strawberry picking bucket can hold about 10 or so pounds of berries. We like the berries, but whatever can’t get consumed by the masses within a couple of days by the periodical snack or stuffed crêpes for breakfast, will end up hulled and frozen on parchment for bagging and later enjoyment.

To my delight, I found that a medium Ziploc bag holds about 1 Lb of frozen berries. Perfect for making one of the tastiest and simplest strawberry treats concocted to sooth the heat. Really. Don’t let the rose syrup be your deal breaker, it’s really quite easy as long as you can get your hand on a rose. It’s a wonderful combination that’s tips this sorbet over the edge of great and frozen berries are everywhere, so you don’t even have to pick and hull them yourself.

ROSE INFUSED STRAWBERRY SORBET

1 Lb Frozen Strawberries
3/4 Cup Rose Syrup

Add strawberries to food processor, pulsing at first to chop. Scrape sides with a spatula.
With the motor running, add the rose syrup through the feed tube, stopping to scrape the sides as necessary, blending until smooth.

If not serving immediately,  transfer sorbet into a low sided container, cover tightly and freeze.

~ by Dayna on July 10, 2008.

15 Responses to “Rose Infused Strawberry Sorbet”

  1. Strawberries and Roses? This screams romance! Very creative and interesting, and such simple recipes. I’ll give it a try. Thank you for posting.

  2. That sounds like an extra special combination of flavors, Dayna.

  3. Such a gorgeous, innovative take on sorbet – yum!

  4. The color that you got from the fruit is amazing. Its so vibrant and fresh.

  5. gorgeous! though I’ve never seen strawberries that intense in colour. wrong continent?

  6. These strawberries were so unbelievably ripe they almost seemed to become more red when they were blended. In this case, the benefits of eating seasonally certainly came through in the food!

  7. Wow this looks super delicious! Love the color!

  8. Yum…I love frozen desserts that don’t require an ice cream machine.

    How did you come up with the idea of rose syrup? It sounds wonderful. (My middle name is Rose!)

  9. mmm. what a beautiful color!

  10. Roses and strawberries…pure heaven!!! Wish I could have a scoop right now!

  11. The colour on that is gorgeous!

  12. this recipe is perfect! it’s totally simple but will still totally impress my friends. thanks!

  13. Absolutely gorgeous! I love fruit with the floral scent of roses and lavender. I can’t wait to make this!

  14. That sorbet looks Aaamazing!!!

  15. insane! that sorbet is such a concentrated red. it’s gorgeous and the rose/strawberry combo sounds amazing.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

