Gingered Peach Shortbread Bars


You think I would have learned after my adventure with a basket of peaches last year. Yet, here I go again with another overflow of peaches and posts.

I like peaches, I really do. Sweet and juicy, the fuzz is a bit much for me after a bit, but fragrant and so completely summer, none the less.

With the smell of my last basket of peaches wafting throughout the dining room, I knew that this last layer had ripened to perfection. With simplicity and inspiration… and a need for sweetness during 3 o’clock coffee, this peachy goodness found it’s way to our plates.

& With a few left in the basket on this eve of back to school, perhaps a new trend will develop?
Fuzzy, juicy and local peach for the teacher? Or will it be the jam?

PEACH SHORTBREAD BARS

1 Cup All Purpose Flour
1/3 Cup plus 1 Tablespoon Corn Starch
1/3 Cup Confectioners Sugar
3/4 Cup Vegetable Shortening, frozen or very cold, broken into pieces
Pinch Cinnamon

5 Peaches, about 2 cups chopped
1/4 Cup Granulated Sugar
1 teaspoon Freshly Grated Ginger

Crumb Topping
1/2 Cup Flour
1/4 Cup Sugar
1/4 Cup Earth Balance (Butter)

Preheat the oven to 350ºF.
Combine the flour, corn starch, confectioners sugar, shortening and cinnamon together in a food processor and pulse until the mixture resembles a coarse crumb which can be molded when pinched.
Press the dough into an 8″x8″ square baking dish and bake for 12-15 minutes or until just golden around the edges.
Remove and cool slightly.
Meanwhile, halve the peaches to remove the stone then quarter before adding to a sauce pan.
Cover the peaches with the sugar and cook over a medium heat to release their juices and loosen the skins.
Remove the skins and discard if able and desired.
Mash the peaches with a potato masher, fork or hand held blender to roughly purée.
Add the grated ginger and sprinkle over the additional 1 tablespoon of cornstarch, stirring well.
Return to a rolling simmer, continuing to cook until thickened.
Cool while you combine the crumb topping.
In a small bowl mix together the 1/2 cup flour, 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup Earth Balance with a fork until everything is evenly combined, moist and crumbly.
Pour the peaches over the prepared shortbread and sprinkle over topping.
Return the pan to the oven and bake for an additional 15 minutes.

~ by Dayna on September 1, 2008.

10 Responses to “Gingered Peach Shortbread Bars”

  1. These look so good I could cry. Could they be made with blueberries?

  2. I’m sure they could be made with blueberries and many other seasonal fruit. I’d omit the ginger for the blueberries and maybe add some lemon zest though…

  3. Oooh, scrumptious shortbread!! (Try saying THAT 5 times fast, haha ;-) ).

  4. Must get more peaches. You know I’m going to sign up with that bloggers choice thing just so I can vote yours the best.

  5. A local peach for the teacher? Um, I’m thinking not. If I were you I’d eat the entire basket myself! :)

    Just kidding, sharing is nice. The shortbread bars sound wonderful!

  6. You are quickly become one of my favorite bloggers. I’m gonna have to try these soon.

  7. yum… We have a very productive pear tree in our back yard. I’m going to try a pear version for the kids this weekend.

  8. Oooh this looks good. Beautiful photo, now if I could just get a sample of that dessert! Yummy :D.

    We’d like to invite you to participate in our September apple and peach recipe contest (the recipe can be sweet or savory). All competitors will be eligible to win one of three prizes; the first place winner will win a cookbook of their recipes :)! Please email me, sophiekiblogger@gmail.com, if you’re interested.

    Feel free to check out our blog for more details: http://blog.keyingredient.com/2008/08/29/september-kick-contest/

    Thanks :),
    Sophie
    KI Chief Blogger

  9. Your bars sound amazing! Perfect for an afternoon snack.

  10. I bought peaches just for this recipe. ;-)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

