Blogging Martha …and Pumpkins


So did everyone get a chance to watch Martha yesterday??
Not only was is it the start of her new season, yesterday she featured blogging; a few of them that we know and love I might add.
First up there was an intro to Deb at Smitten Kitchen, then a great segment with fellow food photographer and blogger Matt Armendiaz from Matt Bites. Matt was lucky enough to get a book writing suggestion from Martha herself all while mixing it up with her and the Kitchen Aid.

How wonderful to see a full hour devoted to the beauty of the blog. I’m guessing Martha is into hers, as it’s not only updated regularly, but she was dying to know everyone’s monthly stats and income draw. It was darling. Really.

Anyhow, what was really great was getting to see Martha and her old pal, Margaret, who’s site A Way To Garden, I’m already addicted to. Margaret used to be the garden the then the editorial director at MSL, so she knows a thing or two about gardening. Not only is Margaret’s site a naturally good read, she’s offered personal tips and suggestions on how to plant corn and why it is that mine is the only garden that doesn’t produce copious amounts of zucchini. (I finally did get ONE, by the way!!) A Way to Garden, along with Deb and the gals at Dinner Tonight have been hosting some weekly round ups of seasonal veggie dishes and today is one of my absolute favourites; pumpkin.

If you’ve ever read my other blog, Food+Photography, you’d see the facination, lust I have over pumpkins. Every fall I buy too many and try to squeeze the space in my yard to grow some of my own every year.
That being said, I have three plants from the seeds of last year; Marina Di Choggia, a Rouge Vif D’Etamps and my favourite Galeux d’Eysine. So far, I’ve been enjoying their flowers along with the bees, but I think I’ll be heading back to the pumpkin patch in a couple of weekends – at least something grew…

To join into the fun, here are a few of my pumpkin favourites from this site:

MARINA DI CHIOGGIA GNOCCHI

PUMPKIN PIE POPPERS

PUMPKIN & MUSHROOM RISOTTO

PUMPKIN MANICOTTI

PUMPKIN CRANBERRY TEACAKES


SAVORY PUMPKIN TART

~ by Dayna on September 18, 2008.

8 Responses to “Blogging Martha …and Pumpkins”

  1. I WATCHED IT!!! :-)

    Your pumpkin dishes make the pumpkin dishes that I just posted about on my blog look lame, haha. WOW those are all gorgeous!!

  2. I love Martha…
    I also love pumpkin, so you’re post has me VERY excited. (Not to mention hungry!)

    ~Erin @ “Vegan & the City”

  3. Cool! I need ideas for using pumpkin in things other than pie!

  4. Darn, I missed the show. It sounds like it was a really good one too, now I’m hoping to catch it on a rerun. And wow, what great pumpkin ideas!

  5. Gosh you make me want to cook again…I mean really cook.

    I had blogging friends on twitter who were in the audience, twittering about the show! Martha is way cool!

  6. The pumpkin food makes me want to cry it all looks so incredible. Please come to my house and make everything.

  7. I just had a orange-gasm

  8. Oh my good Lord!! I am drooling… I love pumpkin and all those wonderful dishes made me wish I had bought pumpkin yesterday at the market!! YUMM!!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

