Chi Chi Chi Chia


Chia seeds, which used to be mostly known for growing kitchy green hair, is now coveted as a omega-3 rich supergrain.

I always secretly yourned for the terra cotta collectable, so I wanted in on the healthy fun.

With a kid that has just started her career in brown bagging lunches, I’m certainly learning that it’s tough enough getting them to eat, let alone eat well. One food I know will not return home again are bagels and since I usually try to make my own of everything, I thought I’d give them a go.

CHIA SEED BAGELS

1 1/4 Cups Warm Water
1 1/2 teaspoons Instant Yeast Granules
2 Tablespoons Sugar
3 1/2 Cups All Purpose Flour
1 1/2 teaspoons Salt
1/4 Cup Chia Seeds

Measure off the warm water and add the yeast and sugar, stirring to dissolve.
Leave the yeast mixture to sit, activate and bubble while you add the flour and salt to the bowl of a stand mixer with the hook attachment. (Alternatively, a large bowl and a wooden spoon still works:) Mix to combine.
Once the yeast has begun to bubble turn your mixer on low and continuously pour the yeast mixture over the flour and salt.
Keep the motor going, it should come together into a elastic dough. If you find it’s still sticking to the bottom of the bowl, feel free to toss in a small handful of flour and keep mixing.

Remove the dough, shaping it into a smooth ball and transfer it to a lightly greased, deep bowl to rise, loosely covered it with plastic wrap.
Let your dough rise, doubling in bulk, for about 2 hours or over night in the refrigerator, but bring it back to room temperature before proceeding.
Turn the dough out to a lightly floured surface. Dust a knife in flour and cut the dough in half.
Cover one half and cut the other into 4 or 5 pieces.
Beginning with the first piece, roll out the dough into a long rope, about 1″ (2cm) in diameter, shaping into a ring and secure. Leave it to rest, covered, on a baking sheet while you continue with all of the remaining dough.
Preheat the oven to 400ºF and bring a large pot of water onto boil.
Once the water is boiling, drop 2 – 3 of the bagels in for about 1 minute on each side.
Remove with a slotted spoon and return to a new, parchment lined baking sheet. Carefully sprinkle over the chia seeds and return to boiling the rest of the waiting bagels.
Flick or lightly spritz water into the oven and place the bagels on the center rack. Bake for about 5 minutes and spritz water into the oven again to create steam (and crispier bagels).
Bake for about 15 – 20 minutes more or until golden.

~ by Dayna on September 23, 2008.

11 Responses to “Chi Chi Chi Chia”

  1. These chia bagels look spectacular! Thank you for the recipe.

  2. You know, I tried chia seeds, and I did NOT like them – should I give them a 3rd chance??

  3. You didn’t like them??? Just on their own or sprouted?
    I found that they didn’t taste like anything. Really, a poppy seed had more flavour but they are a perfect way to sneak in a little more omega-3′s!
    Try them, try them and you may…

  4. I loove chia seeds. I first discovered them in Dr.Weil’s Chia Razz fruit and nut bar. (If you havn’t tried it, I highly recommend that you should, it will even make a chia lover out of the chia haters, I swear.) Where can you buy chia seeds? Local heath food stores or whatnot?

  5. I bought my seeds at our local bulk store, so I would assume, there, health food and at the Whole Foods bulk sections would also carry them.

  6. Awesome! I really want to try chia seeds. They were and are a really important food for Indigenous American peoples, so they must be great! Pretty bagels.

  7. Your bagels are really lovely. I just bought my first chia seeds, and I’ve yet to make bagels, so I am bookmarking this recipe.

  8. These are beautiful! Are these the baked versions? I love how white the are! They look delicious.

  9. Who knew you could eat chia seeds–so weird! And kitsch! The bagels look great too. :)

  10. Actually, the type of seeds for human consumption are NOT the same ones used for chia pets! I’ve been eating them since this past February. I buy mine online, where the quality is better than my local organic store. Some places charge a premium for “white” chia, but I’ve read there is no difference between the black and white seeds. They are full of antioxidents and omega 3′s. better than flax!

  11. Wow! These look great…I have never attempted bagels at home, so I’ll have to bookmark this one!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

