Pumpkin Cranberry Scones



I’m sitting and eating and eating and thinking about what to write for a post.
These are good. Even on the second day, but especially just warm from the oven. The amazing thing is that they are perfectly autumn and the moisture hasn’t given way to the little bricks that so many other scones can become.

I may have mentioned my favourite fall outings to the pumpkin patch, my Scottish roots and even my recent vacation. All of which brought me to my current gluttony of scones and tea.

Having arrived home after 2 1/2 weeks in the sun, one of my hoarded pumpkins wasn’t too happy about being hauled inside a little early. With signs of softness starting, I knew it wouldn’t store but since it was one of my favourite Galeux d’Eysines, I didn’t really mind carving in early.
These old French heirlooms are perfect for baking and savoury dishes.
Might be why these thing taste so good!

(That’s her in the middle, my Galeux d’Eysines in all her unspoiled glory.)


PUMPKIN CRANBERRY SCONES

1 1/2 Cups Unbleached All Purpose Flour
1/2 Cup Whole Wheat Flour
1/2 Cup Brown Sugar, lightly packed
1 teaspoon Baking Powder
1/4 teaspoon Baking Soda
1/4 teaspoon Salt
1/2 Cup Cold Vegan Butter, cubed
3/4 Cup Pumpkin Purée, I used unseasoned, roasted Galeux d’Eysines, but canned is already drained
1/2 teaspoon Cinnamon, ground
Pinch Freshly Ground Nutmeg, about 1/8 tsp.
5 T Clementine or Orange Juice, 2 clementines
1/2 Cup Dried Cranberries

Preheat oven to 450ºF.
Drain any excess water from the pumpkin purée with a fine mesh sieve, if necessary.
Add the flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt, sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg, pulsing to sift.
Add the cold, cubed butter and pulse to a coarse bread-crumbly consistency.
Add the the pumpkin and clementine juice to combine.
Add the dried cranberries and pulse, just to incorporate throughout the dough.
Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
With clean, floured hands, turn the dough out onto the parchment paper.
Pat the sticky dough into a workable 1″x8″ round and slice, with a floured blade, into 8 wedges.
Bake for 20 minutes or until tops have slightly goldened.

Allow to cool, only slightly, before eating.
Dust with confectioners sugar, if desired.

~ by Dayna on November 14, 2008.

10 Responses to “Pumpkin Cranberry Scones”

  1. Classic!!

  2. I love the pumpkin-cranberry combo – so perfectly autumnal!

  3. wow, the scones look gorgeous. I’m super into all the autumn flavors this year… and I’ve got a lot of sugar pie pumpkins waiting to be cooked up. mmmm

  4. Wonderful! I can’t wait to make these!

    I’m wondering if those other squash are yours too and what you’re planning to do with the Hubbard squash. I have one and a Kobacha sitting waiting to be used. I’m planning on a squash with shallot and bean saute for one and roasting the other but I’m open for ideas in the future if you post something…

  5. these look great! I made pumpkin scones last week and they were great, this would be a nice thanksgiving breakfast!

  6. Thanks everyone for the nice comments.
    Annie: The hubbard? That one make a mean soup. Smooth and velvety with perfect pumpkin flavour – funny, since it’s classed as a squash – doubly funny, is that I just used 2 cups of it roasted (then puréed) for a few jars of Maple Pumpkin Butter. I’ll have to be sure to post the recipe for that one!

  7. Mine didn’t turn out quite as “bready” looking as the picture. Looked more like a huge cookie then anything. The outside was well cooked but not the inside. Any ideas?

    Did you cut the dough into wedges, with a floured knife?
    Do you have a thermometer in your oven to ensure the temperature? My other suggestion, since some ovens hold different temperatures, would be to use a cake tester for the center and keep in in the oven a few more minutes, if necessary to get the center done.
    I hope it helps.

  8. Ah, ok! I’ll look into a oven thermometer and cake tester. Thank you for the tips. Much appreciated!

    Another suggestion is to be sure the dough has been flattened when you’re shaping it…Cake tester is as affordable as a toothpick. Hope it helps and you get to enjoy your next batch more.

  9. What could I use instead of flour as I have a granddaughter and daughter-in-law who
    have to have gluten free products?
    Like you, I always play around with the quantities of gluten free flour. In this case, I might use a combination of rice flour, potato or tapioca flour or both. The flavors should still work and taste good with the alteration.
    This is one of my favourite scone recipes. I’d love to hear how it works out for you!

  10. We made ours like cookies, since we were out of parchment paper – ended up being the perfect size for the kids! My youngest son is allergic to dairy and it was so nice to know that using his ‘butter’ would still make a yummy product! We also used fresh cranberries instead of dried ones. The juiciness of the berries added to the deliciousness! I had to pack them up right away so we didn’t eat them all that night!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

