Roasted Eggplant Soup



It’s the end of the year, time to clean up. Clean out the fridge and my posting draft folder.

A little while back, I couldn’t help but over hear an online friend of mine, Nicole from Pinch My Salt, describe her clean out the fridge soup. Some envy and a few Twitter notes back and forth, left me with the great suggestion of a Roasted Eggplant Soup.

I’m always attracted to the idea of eggplant. In all it’s shiny, aubergine goodness, who can resist? Destined for a luscious eggplant parm that never was, this once glimmering purple veg, began to droop. What might have been a baba ghanoush evolved into a fantastic, hearty and new rendition of my own clean out the fridge soup

ROASTED EGGPLANT SOUP

1 Large Eggplant
1 Onion, peeled and quartered
6 large garlic cloves, peeled
2 tablespoons Olive oil
1 teaspoon dried Thyme
1/2 teaspoon Dried Rosemary, crushed
4 cups  Vegetable stock
2 Tomatoes, peeled and diced (or one 15oz can will do in a pinch)

Preheat oven to 400°F.
Trim the ends of the eggplant, and quarter it lengthwise.
Place eggplant, onion and garlic on large baking sheet. Drizzle over olive oil.
Roast until vegetables are tender and lightly browned, about 40 minutes.
Remove from oven and scrape eggplant from their skins.
Add eggplant and the other vegetables into a large saucepan.
Cover vegetables with the stock and bring rolling simmer until everything is very tender.
Purée soup with an immersion blender until smooth.
Add diced tomatoes and reheat to a simmer.
Quickly blend again leaving a few lumps, to be rustic, if desired
Season soup with salt and pepper to taste.

~ by Dayna on December 29, 2008.

8 Responses to “Roasted Eggplant Soup”

  1. Mmm this looks SO good! I can’t wait for a cold night so I can try it!

  2. Comforting!!

  3. This looks like a tasty recipe. I love eggplant. I too am having a clean out of the fridge and cupboards.

  4. This sounds perfect, I hardly ever use eggplant but I think I will for this soup!

  5. This soup looks amazing – I have a few eggplants sitting in the fridge that may become contenders for this recipe.

    Yesterday I made one of your recipes from your archives – creme brulee – and it turned out beautifully. I was incredibly impressed by the actuality of vegan creme brulee.

    Thank you for sharing such fantastic recipes, and happy holidays!

    Gail, it’s my pleasure. I’m so glad you enjoyed it! It’s what’s it’s all about, for me at least!
    Happiest of New Year’s

  6. That soup looks so hearty and really comforting. I have two eggplants sitting in my fridge now, just waiting to transform into a soup!

  7. Omg just made this and it was amazing! Thank you so much!!

  8. I made this soup yesterday. It’s wonderful. I added a little bit of sprouted tofu to make it creamy and to add protein. It’s definitely a keeper for my family. Thanks for posting.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

