Jerusalem Artichoke Chips


It’s April and finally graced with a nice day which was missing the typical showers.
I got excited and took to my garden to harvest the first of my fruits of labour.
(Well, some baby carrots were first, but they weren’t exactly, you know, edible.)

The first things to come from gardens are often the last to go in. Things in the fall like garlic and these, Jerusalem Artichokes.

Also known as Sunchokes, they are tubers from the Sunflower family. They are quite hardy and easy to grow. Perfect raw or cooked they are an overlooked superfood. With lots of vitamin C, phosphorus and potassium, Jerusalem artichokes contain are also a very good source of iron. The taste is similar to that of a water chestnut or a potato, which makes it perfect for sautéing, soups and what I’ve just discovered — chips!

Easy to make, all they need is a good scrubbing and a thin slice.
Heat a few inches of a versatile oil (I used Safflower) to 350ºF in a large saucepan. Working in batches, begin adding the sliced Jerusalem Artichokes. With a slotted spoon, occasionally flip them, cooking until they are lightly browned and crisp. Drain and cool on a paper towel.

I served mine with a quick mix up of “Veganaise” with a pinch of dried thyme and fresh lemon zest.


Know what? Even the kids ate them! How about that?

~ by Dayna on April 3, 2009.

11 Responses to “Jerusalem Artichoke Chips”

  1. TONS of showers here too – blah.

    Such an enticing recipe!! And hooray for the kids eating them too :-D

  2. I wish I could find Jerusalem artichokes around here so I could try those, I am intrigued.

  3. Sunchokes are SO good! I love to roast them, although frying them sounds sinfully good – like potato chips, I’ll put them into the “vegan crack” category!

  4. hallo!
    I was searchinf for some recipes with pumpkin and I came to know about your blog. It´s really nice!! So I had to write a post about you and your wonderful pumpkin recipes on my blog.

  5. are these jerusalem artichoke from the same family of topinambur? they look almost same!!
    I hadn’t heard the term, but after a quick search, yes they are. I hope that means you might be able to find them where you are.

  6. These look so interesting. I’ve never had a sunchoke, but I’ve been hearing great things about them. I wish I had known last Summer, so I could have planted some for now! Thanks for sharing!
    It’s still not too late. You can plant some now and harvest in the fall too. Just wait for the flowers to finish and you can pull them up until late November!

  7. wow, that is exceptionally creative! looks like they would be really good! i am thinking of planting a small garden, so maybe these should go in too!
    They’re super easy to grow… just be warned, if you have a small garden they are tubers and like to take over. Just be careful when you harvest…

  8. I like this post, I’ve never actually laid eyes on a Jerusalem artichoke…I’ve just seen it mentioned the odd time. Thanks!

  9. Sounds yummy. I’m getting ready to plant some Jerusalem artichokes in my garden. Do you know if they are a perennial? Thanks for the recipes.
    Hi Valerie. They certainly are perennial and they grow almost, well, like weeds. The flowers are lovely and the tubers multiply, hence your harvest.
    Be careful when harvesting (in the late fall or early spring – the flavours are best after they’ve done a frost) not to break them up and scatter them too much. However, do leave some in the ground to multiply for the next season! Happy gardening (and eating!)

  10. I stumbled upon your site while researching Jerusalem artichokes. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I am growing sunchokes in the garden this year and will definitely be trying this recipe out!

  11. when I tried making these in corn oil, they didnt get crispy, they got really soft (and yummy), but I WAS looking for chips. I then tried drizzling corn oil on them and putting them in the oven, even so, that took forever, and most were softer than crispier.

    What did I do wrong?
    Sorry to hear to work out as planned. Did you check your oil with a thermometer before adding the sliced sunchokes? If the oil wasn’t hot enough, it’ll just get absorbed rather than crisp the outside.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 98 other followers

