Sheppard’s Pie


Usually I’d be eating something like this in the dead of winter not the first of Spring.
I’ve been doing my best to enjoy a salad every day, plus, just posted about digging up those Sunchokes, for goodness sake!
But it’s snowing!! Not a lot, but too much. It’s cold and dreary and it’s not supposed to be spring again until Thursday.
I’ve had to go back into the storage and dig out the surrendered mittens and while I was there, I couldn’t help but stumble upon the big pot and and idea.
Sweaters = Comfort Food.
If I have to endure this never ending flurry of winter, then I’m getting a few of my favourite things out of it in the process.
…And one of them would certainly be this.

VEGAN SHEPPARD’S PIE

1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
1 Medium Onion, finely diced
2 Cloves Garlic, minced
1 340g Package Veggie Ground Round OR 1 1/2 Cups Chopped, Prepared Seitan
1/2 teaspoon Dried Rosemary, crushed
1/4 teaspoon Dried Thyme
1/2 Cup Button or Crimini Mushrooms, finely chopped (optional)
2 1/2 Cups Vegetable Broth or Water
1 1/2 Tablespoons Arrowroot Powder
Salt & Pepper to taste

About 4 Large (Russet) Potatoes, peeled and diced
Soy milk and vegan butter for mashing

A few big handfuls (1 heaping cup) of Frozen English Green Peas

Heat the oil in a large stock pot and add the chopped onion.
Stir the onion frequently until it is soft and translucent. Add the garlic, ground soy, herbs and mushrooms, if using.
Stir to incorporate, then cover everything with the vegetable stock. Heat to a boil, then reduce it to a simmer and cook gently for about 20 minutes.
Sprinkle over the arrowroot and stir it in well with a fork. Remove from the heat to thicken.
Taste, adding salt and pepper, if desired. (My ground soy came seasoned, so I completely skipped this part.)
Preheat the oven to 350ºF. (If you’re eating now… this can be made in advance and frozen, covered, for later.)
Meanwhile, boil the potatoes, drain and mash (and season as you normally would with soy milk or the like etc.) until you get a smooth consistency.
To assemble, use a deep casserole pot, which preferably has a lid. First add the prepared soy mince, then top evenly with the frozen peas. Finally dot the top with the mashed potatoes and smooth with a spatula.
Cover and heat in the oven for about 20 – 30 minutes. The gravy sides should start to bubble around the edges.
Uncover for the last 10 minutes in the oven if you’d like a browner, crisper top.

~ by Dayna on April 7, 2009.

11 Responses to “Sheppard’s Pie”

  1. That mince looks terrifyingly real! I had to double check I wasn’t reading on of my blogs that I love that isn’t vegetarian! It looks and sounds delicious though!
    Growing up with a Scottish Mum, I had a few glimpses of the real thing.

  2. Considering that I’m snowed in right now, I’ll GLADLY eat something as comforting as that pie, haha – looks divine!!

  3. I wish this awful weather would clear up, but until then, I’ll enjoy this. Thanks!

  4. oh yum. this looks like a pretty simple recipe to assemble, with delicious results!

  5. Leave it to you to make one of the most un-photogenic dishes in the world look absolutely gorgeous!

    Wow!

  6. Shepherd’s pie always reminds me of my grandma, she’d make it whenever we came over for dinner. Yours looks so good- last time I tried to photograph mine the results were not quite as pretty

  7. I’m finally commenting to tell you I’ve followed your blog for quite some time now. I love the photography so much! I also love all the recipes. ;) I’ve always wanted to make some kind of shepherd’s pie. This recipe looks perfect!!
    Thanks and welcome! I’m glad to hear that you’ve been enjoying the site – and that you might be giving the Sheppard’s Pie a try. Let me know how it turns out for you!

  8. I just had some great Shepherd’s pie at a vegan potluck over the weekend, and it was awesome! Didn’t know I had been craving it until I tasted it!

  9. I use canned lentils instead of ground round. It’s healthier and it’s a nicer texture (in my opinion. Ha ha ha).

  10. Oh yum! I just discovered your blog and am quite excited. This looks fantastic.

  11. New to Vegan/Vegetarian cooking due to an intestinal disease that requires it, but I have to say, with all the awesome recipes you have I may not need to give up all my fav. foods that I’ve been sulking over losing.

    Cooking this yummy looking shepard’s pie right now! I’ve never had TVP before… so we’ll see how that goes. Thank you for sharing your recipes–it is literally saving my life!
    These are the comments that make what I do worth it all. I’m so glad that you can find things to inspire you here, at Vegan Visitor.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

