Celebrate Life With National Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Day



Who knew?

When I saw that reminder on Twitter, I couldn’t help myself but to think that I may not have been celebrating enough lately.
How about you?
Life a little busy? Preoccupied with everything?

I had a pineapple sitting, waiting for someone to enjoy it, so when I saw this, I just couldn’t help myself… plus I made it small. Perfect for date night or a celebration of one.

Every time I think of pineapple upside-down cakes, I think of my nana or some other 50’s era mom baking this for some backyard bbq but apparently this cake has been around for at least another generation than that. Either way, it’s quick, it’s retro and it’s fun.

Why not celebrate?


VEGAN PINEAPPLE UPSIDE-DOWN CAKE

1/4 Cup Vegan Butter, like Earth Balance – softened
1/2 Cup Granulated Sugar
3 Tablespoons Pineapple Juice
1 Cup Self-Rising Flour
1/4 teaspoon Salt
1 teaspoon Baking Powder
1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
1/2 Cup Soy Milk
1 teaspoon White Vinegar
1/4 Cup Shredded Coconut, optional
1/2 Cup Fresh Pineapple, thinly sliced, about 1/8″thick
2 Tablespoons Brown Sugar

Preheat the oven to 350ºF.
Lightly spray one 9 inch or two 4 inch spring form pans.
Evenly sprinkle over the brown sugar and fan out the pineapple slices in one layer.
Sprinkle over coconut, if using.
Meanwhile, cream the butter with the granulated sugar, then add the juice.
In a pourable measuring cup, combine the soy milk with the vinegar and stir.
Sift together the flour, baking powder, soda and salt.
Alternate adding the flour mixture and the milk to the batter.
Pour the batter over the prepared pineapple pans, dividing batter equally, if using the two 4 inch pans.
Set pans on a cookie sheet and bake for 25-30 minutes for the 4 inch pans and 40 minutes for the 9 inch or until a cake tester comes out clean from the centre of the cake.
Cool, invert and release from the spring form pan.

Oh, and just to be interesting, I made these cupcakelettes for the kiddies. Same idea, only easier.
Sprinkle of brown sugar on the bottom of the mini- silicone “papers” with a thin slice of pineapple.
Topped with the same cake batter, I just lessened the timing and baked these for about 12ish minutes.
Way more kid friendly and so fun for party popping.

~ by Dayna on April 20, 2009.

13 Responses to “Celebrate Life With National Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Day”

  1. HOLY YUM!!! That cake brings back maaaajor nostalgia for me.

  2. Sounds so yummy, the cupcakes are adorable!

  3. YUM! I LOVE the cupcakelettes!! They’re adorable!

  4. National Pineapple Upside down cake day is my favorite day of the year! Going to try this with coconut oil in place of the vegan butter and agave instead of sugar. This looks amazing!
    Those sound like great substitutions! You might need to add a bit more dry with the agave… I’d love to hear how it turns out!

  5. I love the cupcake route you took with these after. So delicious and cute, I’ll definitely be trying these out. Thanks for sharing!

  6. very lovely cake. My mother used to make pineapple upside down cake all of the time. Loved it but have never made it. The cupcake idea is a good one!

  7. Pineapple Cake sounds delicious! I love how pineapple in cake makes it so moist and sweet. The muffins are a great idea because then it’s portable and you can bring it to work for a snack.

  8. I like the cupcake size! Very cute!!

  9. That looks delicious; love the cupcake idea too!

  10. Awesome looking cake. Can’t wait to try it.

  11. I was wondering how many servings the 9″ cake would make? I’m making my birthday cake for a dinner party (16 people) and would love to make this recipe. I was wondering if doubling the recipe would work and pouring the batter into 2 10-12″ spring form pans to make 2 layers. I would greatly appreciate some input as my dinner party is this Saturday. Thanks!
    Kat
    Hi Kat, Thanks for your comment. First off, I’m not sure if I can exactly picture what you’re thinking on with the two layer cake as this is an upside down cake. I can’t see why you wouldn’t be able to double the recipe though. You could omit some of the coconut beneath the pineapple, put the two pineapple layers together in the center, frost it with a white “buttercream” and top with shredded coconut. Mmm. I might have to retry it myself. I’d love to hear how it turns out. I hope you have a great birthday!!!

  12. I just wanted to say that I’ve made this cake on numerous occasions and now and it is always the BEST! Thank you thank you for creating such a great and simple recipe!
    Thank YOU for taking the time to come back and let me know! I love to hear when people love my recipes! I’m so glad you’ve enjoyed it!

  13. I just made a 9″ cake and I’ve eaten half of it already. It is so good! Now I need to give the other half away before I eat that as well.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

