PeTA’s Vegan College Cookbook


I have to admit, when I first flipped through it, I wasn’t totally taken by PeTA’s new Vegan College Cookbook. It was lacking photography, and well, real food. Then I realized, I made it through college already and I did it with market and a Beer Store practically across the street – certainly a benefit when not having to live in a dorm for sure.
Where this book may occasionally cook directly from a ramen packet to a microwave, I think the book more than makes up for it in it’s simplicity, it is encouraging cooking and sticking true to oneself and beliefs – especially as the ultimate visitor in a processed food, meat lovers world. There are clever suggestions and quick recipes to fill you up all while keeping a limited budget and tools in mind.
The recipes are young and quirky, easy and cheap and with 275 of them, that can keep someone eating for just about every day you’re at school.

The people at PeTA were so nice to share and are letting me give TWO copies away.
If you’d like your chance at getting one, just leave a comment below by Wednesday, May 13th and I’ll randomly choose two winners. Good Luck!

~ by Dayna on May 10, 2009.

36 Responses to “PeTA’s Vegan College Cookbook”

  1. This sounds great – I’m always looking for fast, easy, cheap meals to make!

  2. I’m a little older than college age, but would like this book to be able to share with people I know who are in school.

  3. Yay, cookbook!

  4. Sweet. I need a simple cookbook.

  5. I’m a vegan college student and would love a copy.

  6. considering I’m living that ideal (read: broke) college life, this cookbook is definitely another staple I could add to my shelf!

  7. Oh, I always end up just having a smoothie or not eating whenever I’m in exams or tired… this sounds perfect.

  8. vegan college student here too :-)

  9. This will be perfect for when I go to college in 2010! I too underestimated it, I prefer, “Great Chefs Cook Vegan,” but that obviously wont work while at college. 275 recipes is quite nice too!

  10. I’d love to get my hands on any resource that gives me new ideas in the kitchen!

  11. another vegan college student here

  12. This is a great starter book, but if the book also includes a lot of processed and microwaved recipes. I think if you’re conscious of your health, it may be better for you to find some raw food recipes to make life easier on your body. I found some pretty good and easy ones to follow at http://www.rawpeople.com/?utm_source=A&utm_medium=B&utm_campaign=C

  13. This could come in handy, since I’m in college and I’m vegan.

  14. I would love to have a copy. Thank you for sharing another great resorce with the rest of us.

  15. I love quick recipes.

    Andrea: Raw food isn’t for everyone. Most of the time, it doesn’t fill me up because it’s based around fruit which is low in calories. In order to make filling meals, you have to spend a lot of money to buy fresh foods and to invest time in preparing foods and using/cleaning a food processor. Not only that, but some recipes call for exotic foods like baby Thai coconuts, so it’s not a very “green” lifestyle.
    A good tip. You might also try to eat in season. Carbs are great, cheap and filling, but to pair them with what’s in season keeps it fresh, healthy and affordable.
    (Not to mention, it’ll support your local growers.)

  16. Awesome giveaway! I’m in university and will soon be moving to another country for grad school … and i have NO idea what my housing will be like! This book would be great.

  17. I’d love to get a copy of this book. It looks awesome. Thanks!

  18. Ooh, I want one!

  19. I would love a new cookbook! Simple or not, I’ll take it :o)

    Courtney
    Give me time and I’ll get the collection together – good for college, graduations and fancy family holidays:)

  20. I go to boarding school, and this is exactly what I need! Thank you!

  21. I would love this book!

  22. I love cereal, but there is so much one can eat. Having it every morning before heading out the door gets really boring. This would be great to shake things up a bit.

  23. Sounds great! I’m always looking for more meals to cook in my dorm room. Thanks for the giveaway!

  24. I just made the transition from vegetarian to vegan this month and would LOVE this book! I need all the help I can get!

  25. Oh Peta! At least they try!

  26. I’d love to have a copy of the book! I don’t think my local library EVER plans on getting anything by PETA

  27. Oh I’d love this! Just about to graduate college but all recipe books are welcome on my shelf.

  28. I could always use another cookbook hanging around for inspiration.

  29. Oh, cool! I really like the idea of a cookbook adjusted to students’ needs.
    Sünne

  30. The more cookbooks on my shelf, the better! =)

  31. Would love another vegan cookbook–ramen or no ramen!

  32. oh, oh, pick me pick me!

  33. I’d love to have a copy. Just started trying to cook vegan last week :)

  34. Vegan FTW!

  35. I’d love a copy! Thanks for the review and contest. :)

  36. HELP!!!!!!!!!!!! I”M MOVING OUT OF MY PARENTS HOUSE NEXT MONTH AND MY ENTIRE FAMILY IS VEGAN! I’VE RELIED ON MY MOM’S COOKING SKILLS FOR WAY TOO LONG! I NEED A COPY LIKE CRAZY!!!!THANKS.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

