Rhubarb Compote


It’s springtime, and even though I might have a bad back, I’m a die-hard gardener.
Some of the most simple and rewarding treasures of a garden are the ones taken for granted. Possibly because they are so easy to grow they are often over-stepped. Take rhubarb, it’s one of the first things up and it doesn’t need any tinkering, thank goodness it’s so big and bright I get a red reminder to pick some and make something like this for breakfast. Although, I’m sure if you have leftovers, rhubarb is one of those great flavours that can pair really from sweet to savoury. Give it a try. Today I did with breakfast!

RHUBARB COMPOTE

2 Cups Chopped Rhubarb Stalks
1 Cup Sugar
1/2 Cup Water
4-5 Cardamom Pods
Juice and Peel of one Tangelo (of course you could use an orange)
Pinch of salt

Add rhubarb, sugar, water and cardamom pods to a medium sized saucepan and bring it to a boil.
Scrub your tangelo, then using a vegetable peeler, remove the outmost peel, leaving the bitter pith.
Add the juice, peel and a pinch of salt to the rhubarb and return it to a boil.
Reduce it to a rolling simmer and cook for about 10 minutes until the rhubarb is tender, but not mushy and the liquid has reduced and thickened.
Set aside to cool then remove the cardamom pods, and the peels, if desired.

~ by Dayna on May 16, 2009.

10 Responses to “Rhubarb Compote”

  1. I would pour this on everything!

  2. We’re starting (attempting) a garden this year- hopefully the dogs will stay out! I might try some rhubarb- sounds like a good starter!

  3. I just got an ice cream maker for my birthday, I really want to make a rhubarb sorbet. I might just stick this in it. It looks good!
    OMG what a happy birthday! I’d love to hear how this turns out!!

    • I know you wanted to see how this turned out as a sorbet, so here is what I did. The ultimate result is what I would call rhubarb guava sorbet. Yes, I added a guava.

      1 guava fruit
      1/4 cup water
      1 recipe rhubarb compote, sans salt
      1 tbs rosewater
      Juice from 1 lemon
      2/3 cup sugar
      1/2 cup corn syrup

      Cut the guava in half, and with a spoon scoop out seedy mixture into a fine sieve over a bowl. Press the mixture against the sieve until a jelly-like fluid is in the bowl below, and only seeds remain in the sieve.
      Peel and chop the rest of the guava, and put it in a food processor with 1/4 cup water. Process until smooth. Strain this into the same bowl the jelly is in, and mix well. Prepare the Rhubarb Compote, and strain in with the guava puree. Mix in rosewater, lemon juice, sugar, corn syrup, and mix well in a blender. Pour into Ice Cream maker and follow manufacture directions.

      Enjoy! (I certainly am)

      WOW! That sounds delicious! Thanks so much for sharing it. I’m going to have to try this one for sure!

      • Yeah, most of these measurements are approximate, the rosewater was more of a splash, and the sugar was more like 1 tbs short of 2/3 cup. And I used a citrus juicer for the lemon, which yielded a bit more than 1/4 cup.

  4. This is such a great recipe! I am always looking for more to do with calcium packed rhubarb!

  5. mmm that looks like it would be delicious on toast! or a fancy peanut butter and jelly =)

  6. Yah really good recipie but I would use a bit less sugar. I think the delicate flavour in the rhubarb’s acid would show through better and make the sauce a little less sugar-intense while still maintaining a good body.

    Tastes really good. I threw in some ginger, cloves and passion fruit!

    Thanks!

    Rhubarb can be tart, but less sugar is always good. I’m really glad you enjoyed it!

  7. Rhubarb is soo amazing! I love it. I will eat it dipped in sand. I am going to eat your compote!

  8. looks yummy – I gues the rhubarb season is over here I just missed to use some of it :(
    But I made an Apple-Plum Compote yesterday serverd with Vanilla Pudding! mhhhh I think rhubard compote would go very well, too!

    http://greengladiatrix.wordpress.com/2011/08/26/summer-winter-weather-pudding-a-soy-gluten-free-dessert/

    Love
    Green Gladiatrix

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

