Holiday Kourabiedes – Walnut Sugar Cookies


Tis the season to learn of new traditions. When I first heard of these I couldn’t help but be excited.

Greek Kourabiedes are popular special occasion cookies. They are often served at weddings, christenings and of course, Christmas. You might also find them on an Egyptian cookie tray for the similar celebrations. There, they are called Kahk.

They remind me a bit of what a cross between a shortbread and a sugar cookie.
They’re simple, nutty AND they use some of my orange blossom water I coveted for recipes past.

Kourabiedes are subtle and not too sweet. The seasonal walnuts may be traded for almonds, but I love the combination of the bitterish walnut and bursts of salt with a hint of citrus and the warming, sweet and intriguing fragrance of orange blossoms. They’re perfect for the Holidays. I hope you try them.

KOURABIEDES – WALNUT SUGAR COOKIES

3/4 Cup Walnuts
1 1/4 Cups All-Purpose Flour
1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder
1/4 teaspoon Kosher Salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) (vegan) Butter, like Earth Balance, softened
1/2 cup Confectioners Sugar, plus more for dusting
1 Tablespoon Cointreau
1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
1 Tablespoon Orange Zest, optional
2 Tablespoons Orange Flower Water

Toast the walnuts in a 350ºF oven, until golden brown, about minutes.
Pulse about 1/4 cup of the nuts in a food processor until finely ground.
Add the flour, baking powder, remaining nuts and salt. Pulse again to mix everything together and roughly chop the remaining nuts.
Meanwhile, beat the butter, sugar,  Cointreau and vanilla extract together with an electric or stand mixer until and fluffy.
At a low speed, stir in the nut/flour mixture to make a crumbly dough. Bring the dough together with your hands (it IS crumbly). Flatten it into a disk, like pastry dough, and wrap it in cling flim.
Refrigerate dough for about half an hour.

Preheat oven to 350º F. Line two baking sheets with parchment or a silicone liner.
Unwrap the dough and cut into 20 pieces. Roll into balls between with your hands. Flattening to shape each piece into a round   disk.
Place the cookies on the prepared baking sheets.
Bake until the cookies are golden, about 15 minutes.
Remove them from the oven and lightly brush the orange blossom water over the tops of each cookie.
Transfer to a cooling rack and dust with additional confectioners sugar.

~ by Dayna on December 10, 2009.

7 Responses to “Holiday Kourabiedes – Walnut Sugar Cookies”

  1. What an enticing treat!

  2. Yum! Those sound right up my alley…I can’t handle too much of the super-sweet stuff.

  3. Wow! This looks like something very tasty. Yum yum. :)
    I will have to try this recipe.

  4. I am adding these to my Christmas baking list, because I love walnut cookies so much!

  5. whoa! wonderful! I am totally overloaded with pent-up baking ambition. Hopefully i can spend some hours in the kitchen this weekend – making cookies and cookies and more cookies. These look right up my alley – thanks for the recipe!

  6. Your website is amazing! I’m newly vegan and I’ve been scowering the internet for good vegan recipes. While I’ve found a lot, your website has some of the most tantalizing I’ve seen so far. I found your site while googling vegan creme brulee which is my favorite dessert, and I was so excited when I found the recipe. When I started browsing the site I found your recipe for vegan banana bread, another favorite of mine. I swear, I’m going to gain 50lbs going vegan – once I really start cooking. Thanks for that :P

  7. Kourabiedes! They look great! In Greece they are most co!commonly made with almonds and they are completely double-covered in powdered sugar so that they are white. I prefer your not as sweet version better!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

