Gum Drop Cake


Had enough sugar yet today?

My Nana used to make this cake for us when we were kids.

I’m not sure if it’s one of those depression era cakes that remind me of grandma’s and farmhouses or if it’s just a classically good everyday cake that’s delicious enough to serve for any celebration.
…And most days are worth celebrating, aren’t they?

GUM DROP CAKE

1/2 Cup Butter, vegan
1 Cup Granulated Sugar
1/2 teaspoon Cinnamon
Juice of 1/2 Lemon
1 Cup Plain Soy Milk
2 teaspoon Baking Powder
1 teaspoon Baking Soda
1/2 teaspoon Salt
2 Cups All Purpose Flour
1 Cup Chopped Gum Drops, about 15

Combine the milk with the lemon juice and set aside.
Preheat the oven to 350ºF and grease a loaf pan with butter and flour.
Cream the butter with the sugar.
Add the salt, cinnamon, baking powder and soda.
Alternating, add about one third of the milk and 1/2 cup of flour until it has all been incorporated.
Stir in the chopped gumdrops to combine.
Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake 50-60 minutes or until a cake tester is cleanly removed.

Cool completely before serving.
If desired drizzle with a tangelo glaze:

1/2 Cup Icing Sugar
Zest and juice of 1 tangelo

Sift the sugar and add the zest.
Whisk in the juice until smooth, add water, one drop at a time, if necessary.

~ by Dayna on April 4, 2010.

9 Responses to “Gum Drop Cake”

  1. So cute. I’ve never seen anything like this before!

  2. Yum, I haven’t made this in years. This used to be a regular occurance in my diet when I lived in Newfoundland.

  3. Holy crap, this is awesome — it’s like a poor man’s fruit cake. I kind of hate gum drops, but I would try this purely because I find Depression-era foods endlessly interesting (yes, how lucky for me that I can say such a thing). I also want to know how it holds up if left in a cabinet for weeks on end, haha.

  4. This reminds me of a recipe for gumdrop christmas cookies that I came across a few years back. I just had to make them merely because of how cheery they looked (and the description that they look kind of like christmas lights twinkling in the snow) and this cake looks just as cheery! :) Not something I would probably choose to make any day, but I bet it would be a huge hit at a kids party.
    Glad to see you are back, and had some exciting adventures during your abscence.
    -K

  5. OMG – this cake is the most amazing thing I’ve seen in a long time! It’s super-adorable and I bet it’s even more fun to eat…

    PS Your Nana is awesome :)

  6. wow! this cake sure is very interesting. thanks for sharing this. i think my daughter is going to love this. can’t wait to do this!

  7. where did you find vegan gumdrops? to my knowledge they usually have gelatin in them…thanks, kerri
    veganvoice.tumblr.com
    I get mine from a bulk store. They gel them with pectin.

    • Hi Kerri,
      Many of the candies I can find in Canada are vegan. I read every label that crosses my hand into my shopping cart and while I wouldn’t consider them *healthy* as they contain sugar filled pectin or corn syrup to gel them together but they are gelatin free.

  8. Loaf? Bundt?

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

