I was recently contacted and asked if I would take a look at this new book: Substituting Ingredients, by Becky Sue Epstein.
To be honest, I wasn’t sure of the idea to first. I am a bit of a purist after all. However, I was convinced at the notion of the author’s section on homemade household cleaners. I mean, who can’t be without a reference like that? Regardless, I haven’t met anyone who hasn’t been left without a cup of sugar only to run out to the neighbour’s. But these aren’t the 1950’s and we can’t always expect a helpful nextdoor darling there whenever we need her.

The book is listed like an index of common ingredients which substitue their closest food relatives beneath. At first glance, I wasn’t too sure how to use the book exactly, but when I eventually ran into my own kitchen dilemma about vinegar, I did find it handy.  I think I may have been invaluable to have a more scientific explanation of things though. How close is the acidity of one vinegar to another? How would one sugar bake v.s. another? Or how could I make confectioners sugar in a pinch?

Is this practical book on my shelf? Sure. Nevertheless, where I may not have found an answer I was looking for, or something was too vague, I might be back Googling again.

Needless to say, I am keeping it on my shelf. I went to it once already, so I’m sure I will again.

Random.org just randomly randomized your great list of comments and handed out lucky #7.
Congratulations to JoLynn! & Thanks to everyone for their comments & follows. This was fun! Because you are all so great, I’m going to give more stuff away! Promise.

~ by Dayna on July 12, 2010.

28 Responses to “”

  1. I can definitely see myself going to this book again and again for reference.

  2. This sounds interesting! So I’m leaving a comment to be in with a chance to win!

  3. I would love a chance to win this book. I’m always needing to substitute one thing for another. It’d be nice to have a bit more confidence when I did.

  4. I’m very interested in this book, especially how it relates to vegan cooking. Thanks for hosting such an awesome giveaway!

  5. I’d love to try out this book. I often use the cook’s thesaurus to find food substitutions, but it has occasionally left me stumped. Thanks!

  6. this definately looks like that kind of thing I must have on my shelf! Thanks!

  7. That seems like a very interesting book and helpful one too!

  8. Sounds like a great idea for a reference book!

  9. sounds like a great book! i’d love to have it.

  10. I have food allergies and sensory issues, so this book would be very useful for me!

  11. I find myself trying to find substitutions regularly enough that I would be interested in what this book had to say. I think I would appreciate scientific explanations as you suggested as well.

  12. hm! sounds interesting, and like a good little resource to have around. Very nice!

  13. This actually looks like a very useful book. I’m constantly wanting to sub ingredients to fit what I feel like or what I have on hand!

  14. I hate when I want to make something and lack just 1 ingredient. This book would be great!

  15. I’m a crazy subber when making food…sometimes it comes out great, sometimes horrible. I’d love this book!

  16. I would love a chance to add this book to my bookself for a quick reference. I have found myself making a mad dash to the store for that one ingredient that I thought I had enough of when starting to make something special. This book just might prevent that. You have a wonderful blog I really enjoy your recipes. They always turn out great.
    Why thank you. Complements will get you everywhere! Good Luck!

  17. I would love a copy of this book!

  18. I definitely need a book like this! Going vegan has been helping me loose weight and lower my blood sugar. It seems very interesting and I can’t wait to see what is in store!

  19. Glad someone finally put into print – all the little notes and tabs in all the other books – that I have to search for every time I need to sub . . . Thank you!

  20. Hmmm, I wonder what it has in there about Egg Whites, always wondered what a substitute for egg white in a meringue or angel food cake might be.
    I’ve never managed a vegan meringue. My last attempt was downright frightening.
    Good luck.

  21. Just followed you on Twitter and love your blog. :-) I would love the substitutions book on my bookshelf! Thanks!

  22. Oooh, pick me! I could definitely use a book like this :)

  23. This book sounds really interesting and I’d love to win! Thanks for the giveaway and for the honest review. :)

  24. I’ve been looking for a book like this! Excited to see who gets it :)

  25. This book seems like a fantastic addition to any cook’s collection! So often I’ve found myself in the middle of making a dish, when I reach for a tin of something and it’s gone. I could definitely use a book like this.

  26. As soon as I saw the title, I got excited – I am one of those cooks who routinely forgets to check my supply of ingredients before embarking on big projects, so I have found myself Googling substitutions many a night. This sounds like a great addition to the shelf!

  27. This book looks great and I feel like it would be an awesome one when working with my clients too!

  28. Great book! It came in handy the other night, I didn’t have hoison sauce and what do you know, It has a recipe on how to make it! I had everything on hand! Thanks Dayna!!!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

