Holidays Are Approaching


As the Holidays approach, I’ve been asked to review books and promote products. I’ve been asked you to remind you all to donate and give generously through various outlets, like Unicef, or Plan, where you could buy the gift of clean water for a familyschool supplies for a child or a grove of mango trees. (Now, I bet your mom, sister or teacher would love that!)
Of the books, one in particular caught my eye. Perhaps I’ve been on the right health bender trying to cure my ails. While I’ve been reaching for greener greens, I’ve been trying to figure out new dinners and better grains; Superfood Cuisine by Julie Morris, appears at my doorstep.

Subtitled, “Cooking With Nature’s Most Amazing Foods”, it covers the traditional acai, quiona but also touches on many South American “superfoods” and the ANDI rating scale (Aggregate Nutrient Density Index) that’s been popping up in Whole Foods and the like.

By first Glance, the book is quite lovely. A vibrant photo begins my journey into the book. The pages are thoughtfully on recycled paper and are packed with many more images to accompany the recipes. I tend to flip from backward to front through almost every cookbook. Glancing from desserts to appetizers, to breakfasts and back again, I found many titles intriguing, with recipes that seemed both delicious and attainable.  At the beginning of the book, I read close to five dozen pages, describing many new and interesting ingredients, their heritage and how best to prepare and pair their flavour profiles with other foods getting the best health benefits.

With many appealing recipes, both savoury and sweet the Holiday chill swayed me towards many of the warm and hearty dishes.
Admittedly, although I’m adventurous, some of the recipes were a stretch for me flavourwise. Added that I have a family to feed with many of these new ingredients, I couldn’t get to crave making a few for myself, let alone my kids.
First on my list to cook was the Cauliflower Risotto and the Kale and Black Eyed Pea Stew. Both meals went over well convincing me more and more that these foods aren’t simply super, they can be delicious as well.

~ by Dayna on December 4, 2011.

3 Responses to “Holidays Are Approaching”

  1. That sounds really good. I’m interested to know how the Kale and Black Eyed Pea Stew turns out — it sounds perfect for the new year!

  2. That sounds like an interesting book. Thanks for sharing.

  3. The photo on the cover is so captivating and inviting!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

