Kale+Black Eyed Pea Stew



In the rush of the season, it’s good to be tempted by books and luscious photos.
Making the almighty “what’s for dinner” question resolve, I made this stew from the earlier reviewed:
Superfood Cuisine by Julie Morris.

Of course I mentioned wanting to try it, and a few of the commenters did too!
The recipe was straightforward and although I didn’t have wakame on hand, the book has a handy list of substitutions to suggest in its place.
My stew didn’t look anything like her photo, red and warm; quite the opposite really.

I found the stew to be heavy on the onion and I wasn’t sure where the colour went and It really needed that hit of lemon juice at the end and the recipe didn’t call for salt, so I put out some of my salish, smoked salt. For a little more meal, I added some sesame marinaded tofu which I’d diced, which just hit the spot. All in all it was an easy and pretty quick, hearty meal on a chilly December afternoon.

Do you want to try this or another of the recipes? Julie Morris and her publisher have offered to help with your Holiday shopping by offering a copy to one of my readers.
Leave a comment, maybe let me know what I should make for dinner next.
I’ll randomly draw a name this Saturday, December 10, 2011 to a win a copy of Superfood Cuisine By Julie Morris!

Congratulations to Annie! The random number generator chose you. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
& Happy Birthday!

~ by Dayna on December 7, 2011.

7 Responses to “Kale+Black Eyed Pea Stew”

  1. This looks fabulous and I would love to win a copy of this cookbook! Going with the kale theme, I think you should make kale chips next. They are so fabulous.

  2. I’m not really sure what you should make next since I don’t know what recipes are in the book, but this looks great! Anything with kale is a winner in my book.

  3. Does it count as a Christmas gift if I give it to myself? Your photo and suggested substitutions make this sound like a perfect winter soup.

    On a different note, any calendar this year?
    Of course it counts! How else do you get what your really want for Christmas?
    The calendar didn’t fly off the shelf. How about an ipad app instead?

  4. This stew recipe looks great, especially with the additions of tofu! I will definitely give it a try sometime soon! Thanks for the recipe! :)

  5. Kale is one of my all time favorite foods, so I would LOVE to try this!!! I have no idea what to suggest you make next, except…please…more kale? :)

  6. Yay! I would love to win a copy of the cook book! The draw is even on my birthday. You should consider making some sort of potsticker for your next meal. We are going to be making Shiitake Mushroom Potstickers with green onion, ginger and cilantro and szechuan sauce.

    Thank you!
    Thanks for the suggestion Annie! Potstickers sound like a perfect idea!

  7. There is no question that this recipe is one of the “eye candies” that will surely be loved by many people even at one glance.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

