Zesty Avocado Bucatini


I’ve been realizing the eerie amount of macaroni and cheese that is actually consumed in my house. Thankfully it’s not always of the boxed variety, so someday I will be sure to share my version of the almighty classic for Presto Pasta Night.

However, through the dusty orange haze of the boxed nightmare, a grown up lunch was very much in order.
Buccatini is a fun favourite. Long – but so much better, it resembles macaroni with it’s tubular shape, which could be why the kids like this too. Either that, or it could be the avocado.

It’s taken me about forever to figure out what to do with an avocado beyond eating it straight up, sprinkled with a dash of salt, pepper and garlic, in a sandwich or in guacamole. I always assumed they turn brown easily, how could I do much else?

These were the old days. Then I had lunch with a friend a few years back. She and her sister owned a Niagara B&B and always had a few fresh suggestions up her sleeve. She had prepared a two minute salad, haphazardly chopping up this and that, then casually tossing half of of the diced green, omega rich flesh onto the salad bowl. The result was a creamy, texture happy meal of greens. If I remember correctly, I hoarded that bowl when it came for seconds. What was a simple addition, took the lunch to a whole new level.

Which is what I found for this last pasta dish I made.
I’d intended on a little heat balanced by citrus for a quick lunch. A glug of olive oil, a crack of pepper…. it was good.
But it became great with a quick toss of the diced avocado.

This will be made again.

ZESTY AVOCADO BUCATINI

450g Bucatini
2-3 Tablespoons Good Olive Oil
1/2 teaspoon Chili Flakes, 2 Small Pods, pounded with a mortar pestal)
Zest of One Lemon
1 Avocado, diced

Bring a large stock pot 3/4 full of water to a boil and cook the bucatinias to its package directons, about 8 minutes.
Zest the lemon and reserve.
Slice the avocado lengthwise, twist and separate. Remove the pit and cut the flesh within the skin into about 1/2″cubes.
Once the pasta is al dente, drain and return to the pot.
Pour over the oil and toss to coat.
Add the chili flakes and lemon zest, combining well to distribute evenly.
Remove the avocado from the skin with a spoon and add it to the bucatini.
Toss and serve immediately.

Serves 4

~ by Dayna on June 5, 2007.

2 Responses to “Zesty Avocado Bucatini”

  1. I love it, I’m drooling all over myself and can’t wait to finish what I’m doing so I can run out and buy an avocado to do this for lunch tomorrow! Thanks for sharing with Presto Pasta Nights.

  2. I love this dish! It is zesty and spicy at the same time, like chili-lime. The avocado brings the whole thing down to earth, and provides a rich creaminess to the pasta. Mmmmm. It’s so great to eat a pasta dish that feels light. I could eat this all summer.

Leave a Reply

 
