Market Mystery: Early Summer Farmer’s Market


Blogging Event Date: Now – July 31, 2007, 12pm

The season is upon us when we’re off to seek out our freshest produce at the local farmers markets.
We all have our staples and our seasonal gems we look forward to when they’re in their peak – but how many times have you seen and past over the unusual – the sunchokes, morels,
fiddleheads?
I’m calling out to try something new – taste something you usually wouldn’t know what to do with and go on a culinary adventure.

Step out of your comfort food zone and send your results along with pictures to:
dayna AT madefromscratch DOT ca and I’ll post them by July 31, 2007.
I’d like to do it again through the growing season and with your help we can all demystify some really wonderful, yet underused treasures.

So get outside, enjoy your local farmer’s markets and show me what you can find.

~ by Dayna on June 12, 2007.

2 Responses to “Market Mystery: Early Summer Farmer’s Market”

  1. Fiddleheads rock. When I was a kid in short-pants I used to pick them near my grandparents’ house (on the Rideau river). We’d steam them with plenty of garlic, drizzle on some butter and dust with coarse salt and fresh ground pepper. I liked them better than asparagus – another free vegetable we’d pick nearby.

  2. What a great idea! I go to the farmers’ market every week in Glendale, CA and am always inspired by the fresh, seasonal produce. I accept your challenge! Now I know that bok choy grabbed my attention for a reason…

Leave a Reply

 
