Juice And A Muffin


Twelve Grain Breakfast Muffins are by far my favourite muffins – breakfast or otherwise.
The are so quick and versatile I think I’ve prepared about twenty or so variations.
This latest combination is my current favourite.

Wanting more than a traditional burnt raisin and bran muffin, I first began eating these to get the obvious fiber addition in a grab and go breakfast. When I realized I could eat the whole lot straight from the oven I knew I had my winner.
I’ve tried them with different fruit combinations but one thing always remained, the wonderfully moist centre and crisp outer edges – perfect. This is why could I not resist sharing these for the Muffin Monday 04 round up.

Mostly hands off they’re almost faster to make that your morning coffee (or juice as this day would have it).
Toss the moist ingredients together, take a shower, return to mix in the dry and bake it while you get dressed and blend your juice. Nothing says breakfast more than orange juice, however these are my favourite muffins so the to make the juice a little bit more add a handful of seasonal strawberries and a banana, frozen if you have one on hand. Blend until smooth and check the muffins. Depending on your muffin size it’s, ten to fifteen minutes in the oven, one minute to cool and no time to enjoy!

12 GRAIN BREAKFAST MUFFINS

3/4 Cup 12 Grain Cereal Mix
1/4 Cup Rolled Oats
1/2 Cup Dried Cranberries
1/4 Cup Broken Pecans
1/3 Cup Canola Oil
1 Cup Soy Milk
1/2 Cup Brown Sugar, Packed
1/2 teaspoon Salt
1/2 teaspoon Cinnamon
1 teaspoon Baking Powder
1 teaspoon Baking Soda
1 Cup Whole Wheat Flour
3 Tablespoons Orange Juice or 1 teaspoon of orange zest

Prep muffin tins with a light spritz of spray oil.
In a large bowl, combine the sugar, cinnamon and salt. Add the cereal, oatmeal and stir in the milk and oil.
Allow everything to absorb and soften for 15 – 20 minutes. If you are hard pressed for time, you may skip this step.
Preheat the oven to 400ºF.
Add the baking powder and soda, then stir in the juice (or zest, if using).
Add the flour, combining only enough to moisten everything – try not to over work.
Spoon into prepared tins and bake 10 minutes for mini-muffins and 15 minutes for regular sized muffins or until golden and slightly crisp around the edges.

GOOD MORNIN’ SUNSHINE JUICE

2 Cups Orange Juice, freshly squeezed is of course the best
2/3 Cup Fresh, Hulled Strawberries
1 Banana, Frozen

Blend everything on high, until the fruit is puréed and everything is smooth.
If you’re not usually a pulp lover, you might want to strain the strawberry seeds.

*Note: If you don’t have a frozen banana on hand, just crush an ice cube or two to get the chilled slush goodness.

~ by Dayna on June 27, 2007.

6 Responses to “Juice And A Muffin”

  1. Hi Dayna, thank you so much for your entry. Your combo sounds delicious and I think I am gonna give your muffins a go. Only, what’s canola oil?

  2. Great! I hope you do get to give them a try. If you’re feeling daring use whatever fruit you have on hand: a mashed banana with dried plums, apricots- fig, chunky apple bits with nutmeg….

    Apparently, I’ve been taking our use of canola oil here in Canada a bit for granted.
    Essentially it’s what is also commonly known as a low erucic acid version of rapeseed oil.
    I view it as a healthier equivalent to a vegetable oil in baked goods, canola oil is stated as the healthiest of all cooking oils. Low in saturated fat, erucic acid and high in Omega 3 fatty acids it initially bred here in Canada in the 1970’s, the word “canola” is derived from “Canadian oil, low acid”.

    That being said, a vegetable oil substitution will work it out just the same.

  3. Yum! I’m definitely trying your recipe : ) We have canola oil here in australia, too.

  4. Canadian Canola is genetically engineered by a company named Monsanto. There are very different views on GE or GM foods (genetically modified).
    Dr. David Suzuki talks and writes about it., and not very favourably. Do your own googling :) I am a Chef and stay away from GM Foods as much as I can. I would use hazel nut oil or almond oil in these recipes.
    Your website is fantastic, full of great ideas for vegans. Thanks!

  5. I never would have thought of using those oils. I’m not too crazy about almonds (beyond raw or toasted) but the hazelnuts would be a great flavour addition. Thanks for the tip and the information regarding the GM oil.

  6. […] my warm cereal(I will discuss in upcoming posts). This morning, I decided to make this recipe from vegan visitor. She calls them 12 grain muffins, but because I couldn’t find 12 grain cereal, they are now 7 […]

Leave a Reply

 
