Pan Fried Bruschetta Gnocchi


I usually find Gnocchi to be thick and heavy. Is it any wonder why when translated it means “lump”?

I’ve attempted making my own lumps and snuck the odd one from friend’s restaurant plates, yet I still found them relatively unpleasant to eat.

Between Heidi Swanson and my daughter, I was inspired to take gnocchi to the next happy level.

I recently found a store bought, yes, yes… but vegan gnocchi which I hesitantly cooked for it’s speedy 75 seconds. (Yes, that would be one minute, fifteen seconds.)
Post draining, I put it into a hot, awaiting sauté pan for a few quick tosses and there it was, slightly crisp, light and deliciously golden. It was a perfect match to something fresh and I was delighted with what I ended up with.

Gnocchi’s bad rap with me has been lifted and it took less than five minutes!
Finally my true definition of speedy Presto Pasta.

PAN FRIED BRUSCHETTA GNOCCHI

1 Package Gnocchi (1/2 Lb/500g)
1 Cup Tomatoes, diced ( 1-2 field or heirloom)
1/4 Cup Yellow Bell Pepper, diced
2 Cloves Garlic, minced
1 teaspoon Balsamic Vinegar
3 Tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1 Scallion, finely diced
6 – 7 Fresh Basil Leaves, finely chopped
1 Tablespoon Flat Leaf Parsley, finely chopped
Salt and Pepper to taste

Wash, seed and dice the tomatoes and yellow pepper; place them in a medium mixing bowl.
Add 1 tablespoon of the olive oil, the minced garlic, vinegar, scallion, basil and parsley, tossing to coat everything evenly.
Set aside to rest.

Bring a large pot of salted water to boil. Add the gnocchi and cook until they float, about 60 – 90 seconds. Remove gnocchi immediately and drain.
While the gnocchi is boiling, heat a large sauté pan and the remaining 2 tablespoons of the oil.
Add the drained gnocchi, tossing regularly until crisp and golden; about 3 minutes.
Add the tomato bruschetta mixture, tossing to heat and coat the gnocchi.
Plate immediately and top with fresh parmesan, if you eat it.

Serves 3- 4.

~ by Dayna on July 19, 2007.

6 Responses to “Pan Fried Bruschetta Gnocchi”

  1. It does sound perfect. I’m another gnocchi sceptic, but this dish is definetely worth trying. Thanks for sharing with Presto Pasta Nights. Check back for the roundup a little later.

  2. It looks delicious – I love gnocchi, but not all are good.

  3. This has become one of my favorite things to make!

  4. this recipe is wonderful, thank you!

  5. What was the name of the actual vegan gnocchi you used? If it is that good it deserves a mention, or have you found that it is good whichever gnocchi you used?

  6. Generally, I don’t try to promote products on the site.
    (I do in the cases of the only suitable versions like Earth Best etc.)

    However… In this case, I just grabbed a vacuum packed gnocchi which was offered at my local market, read the label and cooked. I think that most would work. It’s the different texture of the gnocchi once it’s pan fried combined with the seasonal tomatoes and basil that really make this one great!

Leave a Reply

 
