Brown Butter Zucchini


It’s Farmer’s Market Day – again. As I began to troll the stalls, I was almost sure it would be the standard fare – until I spotted these. Baby everything! Courgettes, patty pan squash, they even had silver dollar cauliflower, such a great way to get through the overwhelming number of summer squash!

For a super easy side dish worthy of a gourmet status, just rinse and steam the vegetables until fork tender. In a dry sauté pan, toast a handful of pine nuts. When they are golden on all sides, add about 3 tablespoons of butter (or the vegan variety) to melt and turn a pale brown. Pour it over the little steamed squash and serve immediately – family style. I’m a citrus addict, so I added a touch of lemon zest along with some freshly ground black pepper, but I’ll leave that up to you.

Simple and quick, but when I do it again I’ll have to make more – I ate the whole plate.

~ by Dayna on August 8, 2007.

2 Responses to “Brown Butter Zucchini”

  1. oooh, I absolutely LOVE baby zucchini, squash, and other baby vegetables – nice presentation of your dish!!

  2. this looks wonderful! i am always trying to find ways to use up my squash from my csa haul each week. i get that same patty pan squash but mine are so so so big and i still don’t know what to do with them short of scooping them out and stuffing them and then baking. your photo’s are BEAUTIFUL. i love your recipes. i’ve lived vegan for long stretches at a time and really respect the lifestyle. i ping pong back and forth… earlier this year i was raw vegan for 3 months. was very interesting!

Leave a Reply

 
