Spaghettini Rustica



I was beginning to feel a little sympathy for all those wonderful tomatoes I’ve been snagging the spotlight from. Over this past week, I’d been a smidge focussed on my overflowing basket of fuzzy peaches.

While I cooked and created away, this star of a tomato stared me down from the windowsill. I couldn’t leave it to become over ripe, not after all this concern for the perfect peach. And what would Ruth think? I couldn’t dare miss her six month Presto Pasta Celebration. I must give her carbs and my obsession with the Browniebabe title credit for my extra pounds gained – over the summer no less!

Taking a cue from Marta, I decided to enjoy everything in my kitchen a little bit more, after all, she chose the tomato as produce of the month!

Wanting the spotlight to brighten the tomato, and because I still had a peach cobbler in the oven, I whipped up some quick pasta in all it’s tomato glory.

SPAGHETTINI RUSTICA

250g Whole Wheat Spaghettini
2 Field Tomatoes
1 Clove Garlic, minced
2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
1 – 2 Tablespoons Capers
1/4 Cup Kalamata Olives
2 Tablespoons Italian Parsley
Sea Salt and Freshly Ground Black Pepper, to taste

Cook the spaghettini as to it’s package directions to al denté.
Core and roughly chop the tomatoes.
Drain the pasta and while it is still hot, add the tomatoes, garlic, oil, capers and olives.
Toss well and add sea salt and freshly ground pepper to taste.
Add the parsley just prior to serving.

Serves 4

*Over dinner, we conferred that this dish would go super with a sprinkling of parmigiana and a choice of skewered, freshly grilled prawns or tofu kababs. Give it a try and let me know what you think.

~ by Dayna on August 23, 2007.

4 Responses to “Spaghettini Rustica”

  1. What stunning photos, and don’t you just love this time of year when tomatoes actually taste delicious without any effort.

    Thanks for sharing it at the big six month Presto Party Night Bash.

  2. My vote goes to any dish that contains wholewheat spaghetti looking great – I’m always trying to persuade people how good it is. The pictures are great!

  3. Dayna, I’d certainly have seconds – it looks delicious!

  4. quite simply, what could be better?

Leave a Reply

 
