Savory Zucchini Loaf


It’s September, September! I was not only aghast that summer vacation is over but also that I’d made it this far without tinkering into a zucchini bread.

There are probably about a million recipes out there, I know, I’ve tried many, but I think that this can safely be added as a million and one.

My Nana makes one of the most incredible sweet zucchini breads out there, so in my recipe book she’s got that one covered but I don’t often find a savory variety. I just love the texture of zucchini bread. It’s so wonderfully moist, if weren’t for the lively green flecks from the zucchini’s skin, you’d almost never know it was in there. Sweet is great, but images of zucchini also conjure spices, tomatoes and cheese. I wanted something perfect along side soups, toasted under eggs or of course on it’s own, I wanted a savory version of one of the best quick breads this side of a banana, to stand out from any other loaf of artisan bread. Of the limitless flavour combinations, this one works pretty well. Besides which, I thought this might be a good start to brace myself of the quickly approaching autumn and all the good things that come with it.

SAVORY ZUCCHINI LOAF

1/2 Package Medium-Firm Tofu (225g)
1/4 Cup Vegetable Oil
1 1/4 Cups Finely Shredded Zucchini
1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
1 teaspoon Baking Powder
1/4 Cup Brown Sugar
1 teaspoon Rosemary, finely chopped
1/2 teaspoon Salt
1 Cup Unbleached, All Purpose Flour
1/2 Cup Whole Wheat Flour
Juice and Zest of 1/2 Lemon
10 Kalamata Olives, pitted* and roughly chopped equal to a scant 1/4 Cup
1/2 Cup Pecans, broken

Preheat oven to 350ºF.
Spray loaf pan lightly with oil, and dust with flour.
Shred zucchini with the small hole of a box grater, or food processor, remove any excessive liquid and set aside in a large bowl.
In the bowl of a food processor, purée the tofu with the oil, salt, baking powder and baking soda.
Pour tofu mixture over the zucchini and combine well.
Add the brown sugar and rosemary.
Mix in the flour just until combined.
Stir in the lemon, olives and pecans, less 1 Tablespoon for garnishing.
Fill the prepared loaf pan 3/4 full and top with reserved pecans.
Bake for 50 – 60 minutes or until a toothpick can be cleanly removed.

Alternatively bake in a greased Madeleine pan for about 15-18 minutes.
These freeze very well and go unbelievably well with this Creamless Potato Leek soup.
A little something to bring back fond memories of zucchini when it’s chilly outside.

*Olives may be quickly pitted by applying pressure with the flat side of a wooden spoon. Simply mash the olive between the spoon and a hard surface, the pit should be loosened enough to easily remove with your fingers for easy chopping.

~ by Dayna on September 1, 2007.

5 Responses to “Savory Zucchini Loaf”

  1. mmm, this zucchini bread looks incredible – I agree, the flavor combination sounds PERFECT for this loaf!! I will definitely add this recipe to my file :0)

  2. Agreed, this looks fantastic! Also added to my expanding “to-cook” list. :-D

  3. This is defenitely a lovely vegan zucchini loaf. I like it since it does not have any dairy ingredients, too. A nice change since I prefer less dairy in my diet now.

  4. This looks like it would rock my world. Definitely on the agenda!

  5. when does the lemon go in?
    With the olives and pecans. I hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

 
