Hummus


I was just asked, via a group email, if anyone had a recipe for hummus.
A bunch of us are heading up to my family cottage for the weekend to soak up the last of the summery days and enjoy some early autumn fires to warm up the chilly evenings, oh, and eat.

So, of course I want to be helpful and the food maker generale by jumping over here, ready to send a link, when I realized it’s been sitting in my draft folder for about, um, I don’t even want to admit it.

I make this for just about every gathering, family birthday party or any other excuse snack.
I’ve tried others and this one is it. Simple, light and perfect.

CLASSIC HUMMUS

1 15-oz can Garbanzo Beans (chickpeas), drained and rinsed
3 Garlic Cloves, minced
1/3 cup Tahini, roasted, organic)
Juice of 1/2 Lemon, about 1/4 cup
1/4 cup Water
2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
1/4 teaspoon Salt
Chopped Parsley for garnish, optional

In a food processor, combine the garlic, garbanzo beans, tahini, lemon juice, 1/2 cup water, and olive oil until smooth.
Add salt, adjusting to taste, if necessary.
Spoon into serving dish and sprinkle chopped parsley.

Serve with vegetables such as carrots or celery, or with pita bread.
You can cut the pita bread into thin triangles, brush with olive oil, sprinkle over a little minced parsley and paprika, if you’d like, then toast for 10 minutes in a 400°F oven to make pita chips.

~ by Dayna on September 19, 2007.

6 Responses to “Hummus”

  1. “Simple, light and perfect.” – I couldn’t have said it any better myself! This is a wonderful hummus recipe indeed.

  2. This looks lovely – I like the fact that you have used a bit of water to loosen it up (I know some people keep adding endless olive oil!). I must admit I can never resist messing about with hummus – my favourite is lemon and coriander

  3. yr pictures are so great. i wish i had those skills. this hummus pic instantly made me want a bite or two.

  4. Next time, try using dried chickpeas. It’s healthier and tastes better.

  5. Prepared, dried chickpeas are so much tastier, you couldn’t be more right! In hummus’ case I’m always too eager to eat it so I very much admire your patience in preparation.

  6. This is pretty much identical to my plain hummus recipe although I haven’t ever written down the exact amounts. I used to add too much olive oil until I realized I could just add some water to loosen it up! I love mixing in some fresh parsley, spreading it on a plate, drizzling a bit of olive oil, sprinkling just a bit of kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper and serving with toasted pita (I just keep whole wheat pita in the freezer, throw it in the toaster and slice it into triangles). It’s the perfect snack or light lunch!

Leave a Reply

 
