Last Minute Gifts – Grapefruit Pomegranate Marmalade


It’s a little more last minute than I wanted to post but after a Christmas Eve car crash delay (we’re ok), I’m back to wish all of you a wonderful Holiday and a very Merry Christmas.

Taking some of my two favourite Holiday ingredients I had on hand, I simmered up a pot of marmalade. For so long I always perceived jam and jelly making as being a day long mess but I’ve quickly come to realize that it’s really not that tough.

Sugar, temperature and flavour are just about the only things you need to remember.
Adding enough sugar to fruit and juice then boiling it to the 220ºF setting point is pretty much all you need to ensure a delicious gift.

If you couldn’t tell already, I absolutely love pomegranates. Come December, I typically buy out my local grocers stock and snack on half at a time instead of popcorn.
Combined with a zesty, sweet red grapefruit, I made a marmalade I’m sure any Scottish Gran would love.

Wishing you all a very merry and safe Holiday, I hope you enjoy your families… and your feasts.

GRAPEFRUIT POMEGRANATE MARMALADE

2 Ruby Red Grapefruits, zested and juiced
3 Cups Pomegranate Juice
7 1/2 Cups Sugar
8 Cups water
1 Box Certo Pectin Crystals

Zest the grapefruit and reserve.
Halve and juice the grapefruits.
Quarter the grapefruit rinds and add to a large stockpot along with the grapefruit juice and water.
Boil over a medium high heat for 45 minutes or until reduced by 1/3.
Squeeze and remove the rinds.
Add the sugar, pectin, pomegranate juice and reserved zest.
Raise the heat and using a candy thermometer boil the marmalade without stirring until the setting point of 220ºF has been reached; gently skimming any froth.
Meanwhile sterilize jelly jars and lids in boiling water. Drain on a clean dishtowel.
Fill the jars, clean the rims and fit with the lids. Allow them to cool to set and seal.

Yields 7 cups.

~ by Dayna on December 25, 2007.

5 Responses to “Last Minute Gifts – Grapefruit Pomegranate Marmalade”

  1. glad to hear yr okay after yr car accident.
    this marmalade sounds perfect!

  2. this gift may be last-minute, but it looks elegant and scrumptious!! I love all the pomegranate you’ve been using in your recipes lately!!

    oh my goodness, I’m SO relieved to read that everyone is okay, after the accident – stay safe!!

    and by the way, is there snow falling in the background of this blog, or have I just gone completely mad?? haha, I hope it’s the former ;0)

  3. Hope you are ok!
    And I love the snow!
    Tasty marmalade too!
    Hope you have had a good Christmas!

  4. I slathered the marmalade Dayna brought over on our organic pork chops last night, sort of as a glaze…delish!

  5. This last minute gift looks delicious!:)
    But I’m here to let you know you won December IFP.
    Follow this link to collect your trophy :)
    http://www.coffeeandvanilla.com/?p=1165

    Happy New Year!!!
    Margot

Leave a Reply

 
