Eat Food. Not Too Much. Mostly Plants.


…And read this book.

I probably can’t tell you how excited I was to snag an advanced copy of this book last week.
Already being a fan of Michael Pollan and specifically his last book, Omnivore’s Dilemma, this book is a continuation of his essay entitled “Unhappy Meals”, published in The New York Times Magazine.

It was wonderful to read about many opinions I already shared about what we’re being told to eat. The fantastic amount of precision and research put into this celebration of food is extraordinary. Being a “foodie” some facts regarding nutritionism was not something I’d thought of much but do believe in quite a bit. If you’re like me, this book may be redundant as to the ways you already appreciate food and if that’s the case, upon reading you may agree that this could be the book to send Michael Pollan on a Al Gore-esq road tour promoting respect for growers, quality of food, tradition and community in order play a hand in the relief of global warming as well as Western Diseases.

Buy this book, read it, and share it. In writing or reading a blog, it’s obvious we all appreciate food. We flock to quality ingredients, love preparing them and sharing with others. This book details the importance of all that and could be the tipping point that sits us down to the best meal of our lives.

~ by Dayna on December 30, 2007.

7 Responses to “Eat Food. Not Too Much. Mostly Plants.”

  1. I was actually having a conversation with someone about veganism and that it purely comes down to knowing what you eat and then taking a vested interest not only in the product, but the creation and it’s overall impact on your wellness. Thanks for the heads up on the book – one more on my list to buy

  2. I loved his Omnivore Dilemma book. Our house is absolutely positively corn free and I can’t tell you how healthy it feels. I don’t know why people can be so ignorant about their diet choices relating to their health. A close friend of mine has severe migraines, and she can’t figure out why, is on a billion pills for it, etc, etc. Her diet consists of 3+ diet cokes a day, potato chips and other glorious junk food, yet she turns a big deaf ear every time I try to convince her it might just be related to all those fake sweeteners, preservatives and CORN SYRUP…

  3. i can’t wait to read this.

  4. I’ve only recently become a vegan and it was the book: The China Study: The Most Comprehensive Study of nutrition ever Conducted that was the turning point for me. It was a big shock to me that there is so much research out there that confirms that a whole foods, plant based diet is by far the most healthy but we don’t hear much about it. I’ve given a copy to my dad who this past year suffered from a heart attack. I am hoping that him and my mom will make the transition as well and enjoy a long healthy life. thanks for news about other books!! I appreciate it! Happy New Year!!

  5. Enter me please! My contact info is on my blog! Thanks :)

  6. I am not a strict vegan, but have been a vegetarian all my life. I can definitely appreciate Veganism. But a cuppa joe is where I deviate the most. But I make sure I buy organic, local grown, sustainable products – whichever is feasible at that time. As you had mentioned in your other blog, I was quite surprised who is passionate about cooking and eating food. Blogging is one of the best things I have done :). Happy new year, Dayna.

  7. I too am a foodie – this sounds like a fabulous book!!

Leave a Reply

 
