Rosemary Walnut Kalamata Olive Miniature Madeleines


After a few email and requests to bake another batch, I wanted to jot down this easy recipe for a super savoury quick bread.

I’d served these up with the Creamless Potato Leek Soup a little while back but I’m sure that they’d also be great as a muffin with a salad. The flavour combination goes really well with one another and isn’t overpowering. These easily complement a simpler fare, heightening it to something a little more special. But then again, don’t most baked goods?

Very light, tender and flavourful… plus a bit addictive, especially in their petite portion sizes.


ROSEMARY WALNUT KALAMATA OLIVE MADELEINES

1 Cup Unbleached All Purpose Flour, plus some for dusting
1/2 Cup Whole Wheat Flour
1/2 teaspoon Salt
1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
1/2 Cups Water
1 Tablespoon Apple Cider Vinegar
3 Tablespoons Olive Oil
1 1/2 teaspoons Rosemary, very finely chopped
1/4 Cup Kalamata Olives; about 10, pitted and finely chopped
1/2 Cup Walnuts, chopped

Preheat the oven to 350ºF.
Lightly spray the Madeleine pan, or a miniature muffin tin, with a spray oil and dust evenly with flour, removing any excess.
Sift the flours, readding the bran along with the salt and baking soda into a large bowl.
Press the olives with the flat side of a chefs knife or a wooden spoon to loosen the pit. Remove the pit and finely chop the olives.
Add the rosemary, water, vinegar and oil to the sifted flour, mixing well to moisten.
Incorporate the olives and walnuts into the batter.
Evenly spoon the batter into the pans, about 1/8″ from the top.
Bake for about 15 minutes, or until slightly puffed and a toothpick can cleanly be removed.

~ by Dayna on January 20, 2008.

10 Responses to “Rosemary Walnut Kalamata Olive Miniature Madeleines”

  1. Beautiful!

  2. It looks so delicious. And ofcourse so easy to make them

  3. These are really pretty Dayna – using a madeline tray is a very elegant touch. I’ve had walnut bread before, and rosemary with olive, but never all three together (I imagine they go really well).

  4. Oh thank you so much for blogging about the madeleines! I was so curious when you mention them in your Potato Leek Soup. Can’t wait to try this recipe!

  5. They look so beautiful, Dayna!

  6. I’ve never had a savory madeleine before – what an interesting mix of flavors!! yum!!

  7. Oh gosh..I just drooled ALL OVER my keyboard. Okay, that’s a lie..I caught it in a tissue. These look FANTASTIC! I think I could probably eat the whole pan. You are brilliant, my dear!

  8. I can envision serving them with a triple-crème or chèvre and red wine. I love that you shaped them as madeleines. Great blog!

  9. I love this concept, they sound wonderful!

  10. Those were good! I’m kinda a goof for not thinking earlier to look here for the recipe as I was eating the photo shoot leftovers… :)

Leave a Reply

 
