Homemade Nutella


The way this homemade stuff pops up and ends up in various pastries and the like, you’d think that  absolutely almost everyone loves Nutella. Almost.

I had hazelnuts on hand and I’ve been itching to use my cocoa nibs in everything, I just had to, I couldn’t resist. Combine the two and what do you get? You guessed it! Plus I figured, I was bound to get my self proclaimed vegetarian kid who won’t eat peanut butter to eat a nut, especially if it’s intertwined with chocolate and it tastes like Nutella.

Warm, buns, still steamy from the oven, homemade Nutella and some thinly sliced banana heaven…

Nope. “This taste-iss like peanut butter is in it. Are there nuts in this?”

Yes friends, I have the only known person who dislikes Nutella living under my roof and she’s a chocolate loving child.

At least they say that little tastebuds change. More for me, I guess.

COCOA NIB HAZELNUT SPREAD

1 cups Hazelnuts, toasted & skinned
1/2 cup Cocoa Nibs
1/2 cup Confectioners Sugar
2 Tablespoons Coconut Oil
1 Tablespoon Cocoa Powder

Preheat oven to 250ºF.
Toast the hazelnuts in a single layer on a cookie sheet for about 10 minutes. Give the pan a good shake about half way through to toss.
Remove the nuts from the oven and cool slightly.
Tightly wrap the hazelnuts in a clean kitchen towel. Twist and rub until most of the skins have come off.
Place the nuts and the cocoa nibs in a food processor, and pulse on high until they have broken down.
Add the coconut oil and continue to blend until they become smooth and buttery; about 5 minutes.
When the nuts are liquified, add in the sugar and cocoa powder, continuing to blend.
Transfer the spread to a jar and store in the refrigerator, leaving it to come closer to room temperature just before using.

~ by Dayna on July 21, 2008.

16 Responses to “Homemade Nutella”

  1. The photograph of that English muffin, topped with the luscious homemade Nutella, banana slices, and hazelnuts, looks BEYOND tempting – YUM!!

  2. Your photos are beautiful! English muffins with bananas are always tasty, and I have yet to try it with homemade Nutella! I’ll definetely have to try it sometime.

  3. Beautiful photos. I grew up on Nutella, which explains a lot about me :) I just love it, though I haven’t had it in a dog’s age. Your recipe looks great!!

  4. Mmm…I love Nutella! I’m definitely going to add your recipe to the repertoire! I can’t believe there is someone on the planet that doesn’t like Nutella..perhaps she’ll grow into it? One can only hope…

  5. I didn’t like peanut butter for most of my childhood. Trying the natural type as an adult has made me a nut butter junkie!

    Your nutella looks really nice and smooth and creamy.

  6. Gorgeous photos! I haven’t had Nutella in years; I obviously need to make a veganized version for myself like you did!

  7. Just wanted to say, I love reading you blog and I am passing along the Brillante Weblog award to you,, just visit my page if you would like to pick it up.

  8. yes the taste buds will change …then change again hang on for the ride! I LOVE nutella great post!

  9. I can’t believe she doesn’t like nutella! Insane!

  10. Postman’s child, I know!

  11. Mmm this looks so delicious. I am sure she will like it eventually. I had a cousin who didn’t like peanut butter until she was in college and now she can’t get enough of it. Oh and your photographs are amazing.

  12. HAZELNUTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  13. Oh wow, please send your kid’s portion to meeee!!

  14. That looks too good for words! And no worries about your kid- when I was a kid, I was decidedly anti-peanut butter. And now, well, let’s just say jars of PB don’t last long in my house…

  15. This sounds yummy and a lot like one of my favorite products of late Cacao Bliss

  16. Your recipe looks very nourishing! I linked to it. Beautiful photos as well. I’m not vegan, but would definitely eat the good on your site. :D

Leave a Reply

 
