Thanksgiving Weekend Eve (Canadian Style)


Here we are, the weekend I lust after for most of the year. Yes, call me crazy but I love Thanksgiving more than lets say, Christmas. Frankly, I’m thankful for Thanksgiving.

This morning’s drive north to the farm was glorious. Enjoying the warmth of an Indian Summer, the leaves were blazing red in the temperate breeze. The corn stalks have turned tan and the green ground cover has been replaced in most parts with a see of orange pumpkins.

It was not a hard decision to go fully local this year. The bounty is tough to argue with.
At the farm, the over-sized broccoli and cauliflower heads were no match for the cabbages which were easily the size of the pumpkins awaiting Halloween.
Genuine Brussel sprouts were proudly displayed, complete with their stalks rendering them hardly recognizable as grocery store produce, were only recently picked and ready for this weekend’s picky eaters.
I could hardly fit this cornucopia of my future feast into the car, when I was seduced by the countryside’s apple orchard markers.

The midday sun was ablaze as we set out to find the perfect tree. Countless gleaming red apples practically jumped into my bag knowing that they would be Sunday’s pie, or next week’s apple butter… Eighteen pounds later, I managed to wedge my sweet spheres into the car and made my trip back into the envious city.

The Menu

Heirloom Tomato Soup
Roasted Cauliflower Soup

Cinnamon Orange Cranberries
“Turkey”
Green Beans
Sautéed brussel sprouts
Mashed Potatoes & Gravy
Butternut Squash & Spinach Cassarole
Whole Wheat Dinner Rolls

Pumpkin Pie
Apple Galette

I will be sure to post all recipes. If you’d like, leave your request for the order in the comments and I’ll get to the most demanded.
In the meantime, this is what I prepared first….

SPICED ORANGE CRANBERRY SAUCE

3/4Lb Fresh Cranberries, frozen will do
1 Cup Orange Juice
1 Cup Sugar
1 Stick of Cinnamon, 2-3″ piece

Pick over and rinse the cranberries.
Into a large pot, combine the cranberries with the juice and sugar.
Drop in the cinnamon stick and bring everything to a boil for about 5 minutes, or until the cranberries have begun to pop.
Continue to simmer until slightly thickened and reduced.
Remove the cinnamon stick, if desired cover or can.
Cranberries will keep preserved or in the fridge for a week.

Makes about 1 1/2 cups.

~ by Dayna on October 10, 2008.

10 Responses to “Thanksgiving Weekend Eve (Canadian Style)”

  1. I love the autumn photos on your blog.
    I will definitely try the cranberry sauce, I’m always up for more ways to eat up those cranberries while they are available.

  2. Happy Thanksgiving! I’ve never made fresh cranberry sauce. My sister does, so I have never had to. Maybe I will give that a try this year!

  3. Hooray for going 100% local!!

    Happy Canadian Thanksgiving!!

  4. Happy Thanksgiving! I am starting my prep today. Your menu looks great!

  5. happy thanksgiving….
    i am attempting a dried cran sause since that is all i can get here….
    wish me luck…

  6. I want EVERYTHING! This is going to be my Thanksgiving menu…I am African American so I have to have collard greens and yams/sweet potatoes. I want the recipe for everything! You can email me the recipes. Thanksgiving isn’t until November 25th here in America.

    I LOVE YOU and this blog.

  7. Happy early Thanksgiving! That sauce sounds delicious and your menu is impeccable!

  8. Very nice photos, this really gets me in the “fall mood” even though it’s felt more like summer here lately.

  9. Ohhh… will you post your pumpkin pie recipe? Mine are always such a disaster! I am feeling inspired for our thanksgiving celebration here in the US! Thanks!

  10. I just made the cranberry sauce and its really delicious!
    thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
