Cherry Struesel Muffins

I’ve been thankfully blessed with an ever seemingly flowing deposit of cherries at market this season.
My fingertips are stained and I’ve finally invested in a cherry pitter it’s been such a bumper year.

The other day, with another bowlful of cherries, I was called by a neighbour to do some reno snooping and a visit. Since I didn’t want to show up empty handed, she was letting me look at the inside of her closets after all, I grabbed for my cherry pitter and a bowl.

We were a little late but the muffins were still steamy when we arrived. After peeking at her newest addition, we had coffee and the muffins. She had two and I got the name of her contractor. Pretty good trade.

CHERRY STRUESEL MUFFINS
350ºF 18-20 Minutes

2 Cups All Purpose Flour
1 1/2 teaspoons Baking Powder
1 teaspoon Baking Soda
1/4 teaspoon Salt
1 Cup Bing Cherries, pitted & roughly chopped
1/3 Cup Safflower Oil
3/4 Cup Sugar
1 Cup Soy Milk
1/3 Cup Orange Juice

Struesel Topping

1/4 Cup Brown Sugar
1/4 Cup Oatmeal
1/4 Cup All Purpose Flour
1/4 Cup Shredded Coconut
1/4 Cup Walnuts, chopped
3 Tablespoons Earth’s Balance Butter

Preheat the oven to 350ºF. Lightly spray a regular sized muffin tin.
In a small bowl combine the milk, oil and orange juice.
Sift together the flour, baking powder, soda and salt.
Add the sugar and stir in the wet ingredients.
Pit the cherries and roughly chop. Fold in the cherries, and spoon into prepared muffin tin.

Combine struesel topping together and mash butter with a fork until evenly distributed and the mixture is crumbly.
Generously top each of the muffins with the struesel mixture and bake for 18-20 minutes or until a cake tester can be cleanly removed.

Makes 12 muffins.

Published by

Dayna

I'm a chef, food stylist, cancer survivor, recipe developer, art director and photographer. My obsession for food, how it looks and makes me healthier has driven my passion for chronicling my journey through photos. Find more about me on: http://restarteating.com http://veganvisitor.com or my portfolio at: http://www.foodandphotography.com

9 thoughts on “Cherry Struesel Muffins”

  1. I too have been lucky about the abundance of cherries that are at the markets – I’ve been eating them every single day!! I think I have an addiction to them, haha ;)

    Those muffins look heavenly – glad that you and your neighbor enjoyed them!

  2. woah, my favourite cake made into muffins! we don’t have a good cherry harvest this year, so I’ll have to make do with frozen/jarred ones, but thank you so much for sharing!

  3. I found you on twitter. Someone I am following posted your site. I am in love! I have a severe milk protein allergy so it is a struggle to find good food! Oh your food looks beautiful…works of art! U ahve blog rolled you. I may take up cooking again!

  4. Thanks for the great recipe. I made these tonight and they turned out very well. Just wish I would have had this recipe during the height of cherry season and not the end.

  5. These muffins are fantastic! Made them today with fresh BC cherries. I will be making more tomorrow!

Leave a comment