What’s Cooking This Chrismas: A Countdown To The Big Day


Obviously by doing this, the menu won’t be a surprise when we drive up Christmas afternoon to surprise my in-laws with dinner, but I couldn’t resist…
There’s something so wonderfully stressful and exciting about coming up with a Holiday feast menu. I just love a challenge.

The appetizers are covered. (Heck, you could even go vote for the only vegan party food represented in this contest I found myself in.)*wink.

The soup, I’m repeating from Thankgiving. It was a roasted cream of cauliflower and it’s just too good to not to serve up again. It’s snowy and pristine but the depths of flavours from so few ingredients are just so completely satisfying. Besides, this corner of my family hasn’t tasted it – yet.

ROASTED CAULIFLOWER SOUP

1 Large Head Cauliflower, chopped
3 Garlic Cloves
2 Shallots, finely minced
1 Potato, medium, peeled and diced
2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
3 Cups Vegetable Broth
1 Cup water
1 teaspoon finely chopped fresh thyme leaves
1 Bay Leaf
1 1/2 Cups Unsweetened Soy Milk
salt and pepper to taste
Pinch Smoked Paprika, optional

Preheat oven to 400°F.
Roughly chop cauliflower and toss into a shallow baking dish with garlic and about 1 tablespoon of the oil. Top everything with a little sea salt and freshly ground pepper.
Roast for about 30 minutes in middle of the oven, tossing after about first 15 minutes.

In a large stock pot, heat the remaining tablespoon of olive oil and sauté the diced shallot until it’s just tender.
Add the roasted cauliflower and garlic, followed by the diced potato, vegetable stock, thyme and bay leaf.
Simmer for about a half and hour, or until cauliflower and potatoes are very tender.
Remove the bay leaf to purée soup. Blend until smooth.
Reheat soup on low and stir in soy milk and season with salt and pepper to taste.
If using, sprinkle over smoked paprika to serve.

If you’re going vegetarian, try serving with a smoked gouda topped crostini.

Serves 4 – 6.

Published by

Dayna

I'm a chef, food stylist, cancer survivor, recipe developer, art director and photographer. My obsession for food, how it looks and makes me healthier has driven my passion for chronicling my journey through photos. Find more about me on: http://restarteating.com http://veganvisitor.com or my portfolio at: http://www.foodandphotography.com

4 thoughts on “What’s Cooking This Chrismas: A Countdown To The Big Day”

Leave a comment