Raw For Dessert

For the longest time, I think I’ve misunderstood raw eating. The desire for it or the satisfaction from it was a bit of a mystery as most of my comfort foods (mashed potatoes and gravy, minestrone soup or ooey gooey, fresh out of the oven oatmeal chocolate chip cookies) are all well cooked items. Now, I could understand the desire to be vegetarian, but it wasn’t until tasting a brownie, of all things, did I get the raw idea.

It’s fresh. It’s alive an you can taste the foods! It just feels healthy.
…And this was all from a brownie! The hard day satisfaction wrapped in chocolaty goodness.

How wonderful (and intrigued I was) to be invited to flip through Jennifer Cornbleet’s newest creation: Raw For Dessert.
Her recipes are well thought out and all use fresh ingredients, which I love…. And a food processor, which I LOVE, LOVE!

I had to try her 10 minute, one bowl brownies. The recipe was clear, simple and of course, fast.

Everything into the food processor as directed and I still think I had a minute to spare.

With the cocoa and walnuts the flavour was extremely chocolaty but a touch bitter. I found the that the finished brownies stayed together, but were still crumbly when I tried to cut or most importantly, eat them. I’m not sure I ended up adding enough dates to sweeten and stick everything together. Perhaps if the recipe went by weight for the dates, rather than in numbers, I may have been more precise. Either way,  I was yearning for a perfectly placed dried cherry in each bite as that’s what seemed to help balance and sweeten my untrained for raw palate. Not for the kids, but   a m a z i n g   with an afternoon cup of coffee and practically guilt free!!!

Always wooed by photos, I wish there were more. Either way this is a book I’m holding on to. I’m itching to try at least another half dozen recipes! That being said, Jennifer has let me know that I can keep my copy and still share!

Leave a comment, tell me about your raw food adventures. If you’ve tried it, if you want to… Let me know your comfort food.
I’ll be randomly drawing to choose someone to have a copy of Raw For Dessert for your very own.
Tell your friends, let them enter and I’ll enter you twice!

I’ll give you a week.

Until then, here’s the recipe to indulge without indulging:


REALLY! ONE BOWL BROWNIES

Recipe courtesy of Raw For Dessert
By Jennifer Cornbleet

3 Cups Raw Walnuts, unsoaked
1/8 teaspoon Salt
16 Pitted Medjool Dates
2/3 Cup Cocoa powder, or raw cacao powder
1/2 Cup Dried Cherries, chopped
1/4 Cup Raw Cacao Nibs, optional ( I didn’t include these)
2 teaspoons Filtered Water

Place the walnuts in a food processor fitted with the S blade and process until coarsely chopped.
Remove 1/2 Cup of the walnuts and set aside in a small mixing bowl.
Add the salt to the food processor and process until the walnuts are finely ground.
Add the dates and process until the mixture begins to stick together.
Add the cocoa powder and process to incorporate. Add the chopped walnuts, dried cherries, optional cacao nibs, and water and process briefly, just until mixed.
Pour the mixture evenly into an 8-inch glass baking dish and press down with your hand to compact. Cut into squares.
Covered with plastic wrap, Really! One Bowl Brownies will keep for 5 days stored n the refrigerator or for 2 weeks stored in the freezer.

Yield: 16 small brownies (8 servings)

Mihl over at Seitan Is My Motor also reviewed this book. Check out her awesome blog and what she had to say…

Thanks for commenting and for waiting. After getting a number at random, we have a winner!
Congratulations Kelly! We’ll be in touch via email so I can get this great book out for you to enjoy too!

Published by

Dayna

I'm a chef, food stylist, cancer survivor, recipe developer, art director and photographer. My obsession for food, how it looks and makes me healthier has driven my passion for chronicling my journey through photos. Find more about me on: http://restarteating.com http://veganvisitor.com or my portfolio at: http://www.foodandphotography.com

24 thoughts on “Raw For Dessert”

  1. I LOVE raw foods! While it’s not practical for me to be fully raw, I really enjoy trying new foods and admire those who have changed their lifestyles to be raw. It’s all about the desserts for me, too ;-)

  2. I seriously need to adapt to a raw diet as my immune system is having difficulties and I believe raw food to be the answer. I get stressed at work and need to come home to something satisfying that is healing for me also.

  3. I’d love to have a copy of “Raw for Dessert”. I started eating high raw this summer but I usually just throw together some combination of vegetables, nuts, and spices for dinner and perhaps dates or a banana with cashew butter for dessert. It would be nice to actually prepare some recipes!

  4. It’s all about the enzymes! I am down to only one cooked meal a day and sometimes not even that! hard to let go of the mashed potatoes for me too :) Beautiful pictures and great blog!

  5. Beautiful looking brownie! I think they are one of the easiest raw recipes to make along with cookies/balls as you just process everything and they’re ready.

    I really enjoyed some of Ani Phyo’s recipes and when I ate high raw I felt really great! During winter/cooler weather it’s a bit harder but nothing beats fresh fruit or a salad.

  6. Yum–in the summer I am almost completely raw! My favorite raw food is boring, though…a huge salad with tons of fresh veggies :-) So good! And lots and lots of fresh fruit–simple, yet delicious.

  7. Mmm looks really delicious. I like to make something similar for a cycling snack, I just pulse nuts and dates in the food processor. It works well for me but some people comment on ‘digestive issues’ when they eat too much fibre on a bike ride :blush:

    I’d love to win the book!

  8. Mmm, that is my favourite thing about raw food- the desserts! Not to say the other dishes aren’t good, but I have had mixed results with them. Desserts, not so! Nothing but delicious, and healthy, creations! I would love a chance to my very own copy of a raw dessert cookbook!
    -K

  9. there’s a raw restaurant near me that sells raw tiramisu–it’s really the best! i love it more than regular tiramisu (and i’m not raw!). i’ve always wanted to try my hand at making my own raw desserts. thank you for the opportunity!

  10. Generally, my version of raw food is the plethora of raw fruits and veggies that I eat. I’ve occasionally indulged in eating out at raw food restaurants (seriously, an amazing treat!), too. I recently had the pleasure of reviewing Ani Phyo’s raw vegan desserts book, though, and finally tried my hand at raw dessert un-baking. The results were fantastic! The oatmeal raisin cookies were my favorite of what I tried. I’ve had my eye on Jennifer Cornbleet’s book for quite some time now and I’d love to win a copy. Thanks!

  11. Oh, what a gorgeous photo! Personally, I’m super raw-friendly but not extremely raw-active, if that makes sense. What I have tried, though, I’ve definitely enjoyed. I love spiralized zucchini noodles especially, but I’ve been meaning to experiment with more raw desserts, and your brownie photo has certainly inspired me!

  12. I don’t eat raw very often, but last weekend I tried a darn good raw sushi from Matthew Kenney’s Section in Great Chefs Cook Vegan, made with seasoned jicama in place of rice, it was quite tasty! The first time I ACTUALLY Liked Sushi!

  13. I often use her “Raw for 1 or two people” and without fail- the recipes are always absolutely delicious and crazy easy. So rare with raw recipes that often involve days (literally) or preparation.

  14. Hey Dayna
    Just made this for dinner guests tomorrow. Left out the cacao nibs, rolled into balls and coated some with hemp seeds and some with shredded coconut. Have made similar to this before, using cashews and minus the cherries. I think the cherries are a great addition and the walnuts easier to work with.
    Now just need to keep our hands off until tomorrow! Might need to lock them up away from Jeff!
    Yum!

Leave a comment