Tofu & Chickpea Tagine

Ever wonder what came of those preserved lemons? Or just what to do with them?
Now that I’m detoxing and the only fruits allowed are lemons and bananas. I couldn’t have been happier now that I’ve made them. One of the key ingredients in several Moroccan dishes, these mellowed lemons add just the perfect flavour, lifting something that could have been heavy to a fresh new height.

Since this was the first meal that I would be making for visitors while I’ve been on the detox I was obviously compelled to be sure it wasn’t boring. The last thing I wanted was to showcase the potential dark side of a detox. Really, the truth be told, I’ve been having a great time being challenged to get creative in the kitchen again and I wanted it to show. This lively dinner, with it’s combination of spices and the lemon certainly didn’t disappoint.

TOFU & CHICKPEA TAGINE

1 Block Extra Firm Tofu, pressed to remove excess liquid
1/4 Cup Olive Oil
1 Tablespoon Ground Coriander
1 Tablespoon Ground Cumin
1 Tablespoon Ground Cinnamon
1 1/2 teaspoons Garlic Powder
1 scant teaspoon Sea Salt
1 scant Tablespoon Freshly Ground Black Pepper
2 Tablespoons Cilantro, well chopped
1 Large Onion, sliced
1 – 540ml/19oz Can Chickpeas, rinsed
1 – 540ml/19oz Can White Kidney Beans, rinsed
1 1/2 Preserved Lemons, rind only – rinsed
1 1/2 Cups water

Press the tofu between two plates to remove execss liquid. Then, slice into 1 inch (2cm) cubes.
Combine the olive oil, spices, chopped cilantro, salt and pepper in a large bowl. Add the cubed tofu and toss to coat. Cover and let it sit to marinade for at least one hour.

Heat a large sauté pan and fry the tofu over a medium-high heat until it is dry and beginning to crisp.
Remove from the pan and add the sliced onions to cook being sure to soak up any remaining bits of the marinade.
Rinse and remove the pulp from the preserved lemons. Dice the peel and add, along with both the onions and the tofu, to a large pot. Add the rinsed chickpeas and settle over a moderate heat.
In a separate bowl add the white kidney beans and the water. Using a potato masher, crush the beans, then add to the other ingredients, stirring well to combine.
Heat through, adjust seasoning where necessary.
Serve over a chewy brown rice, couscous (if not detoxing) or quinoa with a handful of extra cilantro.

Serves 6 – 8

Published by

Dayna

I'm a chef, food stylist, cancer survivor, recipe developer, art director and photographer. My obsession for food, how it looks and makes me healthier has driven my passion for chronicling my journey through photos. Find more about me on: http://restarteating.com http://veganvisitor.com or my portfolio at: http://www.foodandphotography.com

9 thoughts on “Tofu & Chickpea Tagine”

  1. If I wanted to make this dish with meat, would you suggest chicken? Or something else?

    Sounds yummy too!
    I was very good! The spice combination is really interesting and exciting together.
    I think one of the most traditional ways is with chicken. I’ve also hear of it made with lamb.

  2. This looks great! I don’t think I’ve ever seen white kidney beans.
    Thanks. White Kidneys are what they are labelled as here I think they’d also go by Cannellini. Hope it helps.

  3. Divine dish!!

    **Just as a heads up: I will not be able to comment on blogs as often now, during this semester, due to work overload (I’m stressed already) – PLEASE know that I’m still loyally reading, but just won’t have time to comment. I hope you understand!!
    All the best with your studies!

  4. I was wishing for a beautiful LeCreuset tagine for Christmas, but to no avail. As I’m sure this recipe would be incredibly delicious and succulent cooked in a real tagine, perhaps now my parents will have to get me one :P Thanks for this!
    I have a feeling that was on a few Christmas lists this year!
    Since I didn’t get mine either, I wrote up the recipe with instructions in a large pot, but I’m sure the authentic version would be even better!

  5. This looks great! I’m trying it out asap. Have you found any other good recipes for your detox? I’m starting the 3 week Joshi detox next week and I’m looking for some good eats…

  6. I made this dish tonight (without the preserved lemons) and it was great!

    One question, though- how much water did you add to the white kidney beans? Since it wasn’t in the recipe, I just used the liquid from the can.

Leave a comment