Mulitgrain Waffles

_DSC4523

It was a breakfast built Father’s Day feast. Especially when the kids are making it.
Really super easy, the batter isn’t a whole lot different than my go-to pancake recipe. Of course, you’ll just need the waffle maker for those tell-tale syrup catchers.

VEGAN MULTIGRAIN WAFFLES

1 Cup Whole Wheat Flour
2/3 Cup All Purpose Flour
1/3 Cup Quick-Cooking Oats
1/3 Cup Ground Flax Meal
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
scant 1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups soy milk
2 tablespoons vegetable oil, plus more for brushing
1 tablespoon Sugar

In a large bowl, whisk the dry ingredients together.
Add the soy milk and oil, blending until the dry is just wet and most of the lumps are gone.
Heat your waffle maker and lightly brush with oil.
Depending on your waffle makers griddle size, pour appropriate amount of batter onto griddle for each waffle.
Close and cook as per your makers directions.
Brush griddle with more oil as needed and repeat.

Makes about 8 waffles.

Meanwhile
Serve with syrup, berries or rhubarb compote.

Published by

Dayna

I'm a chef, food stylist, cancer survivor, recipe developer, art director and photographer. My obsession for food, how it looks and makes me healthier has driven my passion for chronicling my journey through photos. Find more about me on: http://restarteating.com http://veganvisitor.com or my portfolio at: http://www.foodandphotography.com

12 thoughts on “Mulitgrain Waffles”

  1. I haven’t had waffles in at least two years, and yours look so irresistible. Plus, I have a jar of syrup just waiting to be used for something scrumptious – now I can’t let that go to waste!

  2. Waffles are hands down one of my favourite foods, especially topped with real maple syrup. Mmmm ok time for breakfast now!

  3. These are fantastic, thank you for the recipe. I’ve made them and they were perfect for my rebellious waffle maker, to which so many waffles stick. I added some poppy seeds and threw in a little bit more sugar. I’ll definitely make these again.
    Wow! These are the things I love to hear. I’m so glad you enjoyed it!

  4. I love your blog! I am scrolling through it now and you have the most beautiful pictures. The creamy potato salad is something I will have to make soon!

  5. this recipe is my go-to when I make waffles! I add frozen berries, nutmeg, cinnamon & agave..and use brown sugar instead of regular to make them extra yummy! pairs super well with old fashioned maple syrup. *drool*

Leave a comment