Ultra Quick Vegan Banana Bread

IMG_5077

Even on vacation bananas go brown. Not like I didn’t think it wouldn’t happen, it’s warmer here plus we’ve been too busy playing to eat them right away. Needless to say, I couldn’t store them in the freezer for another time and I certainly didn’t want to throw them away. Thankfully I have a tried and true recipe for this super quick banana bread that’s the go-to with overripe bananas. With a few pantry items, I was back on the beach in no time.

…And yes, I even bake on vacation….

BANANA QUICK BREAD

3 Bananas, mashed
1/4 Cup (vegan) Butter, softened
1/2 Cup Brown Sugar, packed
1/4 Cup Granulated Sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons Baking Powder
1 teaspoon Baking Soda
1 Cup All Purpose Flour
1/2 Cup Soft Whole Wheat Flour
1/4 teaspoon Salt

Preheat the oven to 350ºF.
Mash the bananas well and combine them with the butter and the sugars to cream.
Add the salt, baking powder and baking soda to combine.
Stir in each of the flours, mixing until just moistened.
Bake in a slightly greased and flour dusted loaf pan for 35-40 minutes of until a cake tester comes out clean.
Let rest for a few minutes before removing from the pan to cool on a wire rack.

For something a little fancier, drizzle over some cooled caramel and serve it for dessert!

Published by

Dayna

I'm a chef, food stylist, cancer survivor, recipe developer, art director and photographer. My obsession for food, how it looks and makes me healthier has driven my passion for chronicling my journey through photos. Find more about me on: http://restarteating.com http://veganvisitor.com or my portfolio at: http://www.foodandphotography.com

26 thoughts on “Ultra Quick Vegan Banana Bread”

  1. I have exactly 3 over ripe bananas on my counter that need to be used. I also didn’t want to throw them into the freezer so I’m going to make this. Plus walnuts :)

  2. Banana bread is the perfect use of ripe bananas. I like the suggestion of caramel. My go-to banana bread recipe includes chocolate chips and chopped walnuts.

  3. I am very picky about my banana bread, and had never thought of trying to make it since vegan. I happened to have some brown bananas when you posted this, so I took the chance. This was perfect! Moist, great banana flavor, I also added 2 T vegan sour cream (a great moistening secret) and it was fantastic. I ate half the loaf right out of the oven lol!

  4. hi there bakers! i´m looking for seriously yummy baking repices suitable for gluten- free diets. can you assist to any online? thanks a lot.

    ever tried Gluten-Free Girl’s site? It’s not vegan, but she’s got the gluten-free flour know how down.

  5. A new go-to in my recipe box! Thank you, thank you, for this tasty and easy recipe. My daughter and I fight over it!!

  6. This is a wonderful recipe! I added chopped walnuts, and it turned out like cake! Love it! Thanks!

  7. One of my local grocery stores sells old bananas for super cheap. You can get about 10 brown bananas for less than $1 and I always buy them (usually for smoothies). I love banana bread but the vegan ones have always tasted gross or fallen apart, I can’t wait to try this recipe and I’m really glad it doesn’t ask for a ton of weird ingredients.

  8. Thank you — someone gave me some very ripe bananas the other day, and I used them in your recipe. It is the first cake I’ve made in over 20 years, and it was very good!

  9. This bread is fantastic! I changed it slightly though – whole wheat pastry flour x 1 cup (makes my baked goods softer) and white flour x 1/2 cup, with 3/4 cup raw sugar instead of the two sugars in the recipe. I’m gonna make my second batch now!

  10. I tried this out last night exactly as stated and it was amazing! I’ve tried a few other vegan banana breads and they all come out with a strange after taste or consistency. These were moist and almost spongy with a ton of flavor. I also sprinkled a few chocolate chips over half the batch, I had to stop myself from eating the entire thing. Will make again for sure! Thanks!

  11. Delicious and easy! My daughter has adopted a Vegan lifestyle so I am always on the lookout for easy recipes

Leave a comment