Chocolate Raspberry Torte

Not like there is any mystery that I love chocolate, but I’d realized that I hadn’t yet created a torte recipe.
What better than Valentine’s week to do the dessert cart?

Generally, a torte is a flourless cake, often using bread crumbs or ground nuts in it’s place, resulting in a dense and intensely rich cake.

I love the contrast of a tart, red raspberry with the intense chocolate, and not only because it’s Valentine’s Day. Raspberries perfectly balance the richness with a bit of pucker making this a pretty sexy end to any meal.

EGGLESS CHOCOLATE RASPBERRY TORTE

1 Cup Almonds, finely ground
1/4 Cup Cocoa Powder, sifted
1/2 Cup Granulated Sugar
2 Tablespoons Safflower Oil
1/2 teaspoon Vanilla
1/4 teaspoon Salt
4 oz Broken Chocolate Pieces, 70+% Dark, Semi Sweet or mixed
1/2 Package Firm Silken Tofu
3/4 Cups Frozen Raspberries

Preheat the oven to 350ºF.
Lightly spray or grease an 8″ cake or spring form pan, dusting it lightly with cocoa and removing any excess.
Finely grind the almonds in a food processor, adding a spoonful of the sugar, as necessary to keep it from clumping.
Transfer the ground almonds to a bowl.
Purée the tofu in the food processor, until very smooth, add the remaining sugar, cocoa, vanilla, oil and salt.
Using a glass bowl or a double boiler, heat water to a simmer in the lower pan to gently melt the chocolate above.
Pour the melted chocolate into the tofu, mixing to incorporate.
Add the ground almonds, pulsing just to combine.
Pour half of the batter into the prepared pan then evenly sprinkle the raspberries over the top.
Cover the raspberries with the remaining batter.
Bake for 45 – 50 minutes or until the sides have crackled and the center is firm.
Cool the cake completely in the pan or refrigerate until serving.
Run a knife around the edge and release the sides of the pan.
Dust with confectioners sugar and serve with a raspberry emulsion, if desired.

Published by

Dayna

I'm a chef, food stylist, cancer survivor, recipe developer, art director and photographer. My obsession for food, how it looks and makes me healthier has driven my passion for chronicling my journey through photos. Find more about me on: http://restarteating.com http://veganvisitor.com or my portfolio at: http://www.foodandphotography.com

17 thoughts on “Chocolate Raspberry Torte”

  1. That is one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen! Thanks for the recipe, Valentine’s day is looking a whole lot better now!

  2. that looks to DIE for… and actually, just looking at the ingredients, not too unhealthy either… for dessert. (Take into account when I read “sugar” i read “splenda”)

  3. Question: how much is half a package of silken tofu. If you had to make a guess in cups or oz. I want to make it for thanksgiving but I’m not sure if the box I got is the same as yours. Thanks! Looks delicious!

    My package of tofu is 530g, so half would be about 7.5oz and about 3/4 cup. I hope this helps.
    Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. Made it and it is sooooo good! Delicious! Different from your regular chocolate torte but the almonds really pulls it together. Very chocolaty.

  5. Wow. That looks like it might actually be easier than a chocolate raspberry cake I was going to make… I’ve never made a cake OR a torte. That looks so good. :)

  6. I made this torte today, and it was a hit. :) I used canola oil and raspberry jam… the almonds were not all so finely ground (I used a blender, but it left some sizeable chunks). It was slightly crunchy. Lovely, thank you. I remembered, I have made a cake before – upside-down chocolate pudding cake. Cakes/tortes are so hard to make! (If my two experiences are at all representative.) I definitely had to put it off a couple of days and sit with the idea when I realized how much work it would be, but today my mind was prepared, and I cranked it out just in time for the party. :D

    Thanks for the recipe!!!
    Thank you so much for letting me know you’ve enjoyed it!
    These comments make my day! I hope the torte helped make yours, and your party.

  7. I think I am going to make this for a vegan wedding potluck. Why use frozen raspberries? Is it also ok to use fresh ones, or does that affect the cooking process? Thanks!
    It’s July and it’s raspberry season. Of course you may use fresh! This was originally posted in the winter so, frozen is what’s on hand. Your berries may not break down as much as the frozen, but I think that’ll be nice. For the purée, you may want to use frozen as they’re mashed and it would be more affordable. Of course, it’s up to you.
    I hope you enjoy it!!!

  8. Thank you for posting this! I’ve been searching for a vegan friendly chocolate raspberry dessert for my mother-in-law, so this is just perfect!

  9. Hi.
    Roasted almonds or raw almonds?
    thanks!
    Honestly, it’s whatever you have on hand. I used roasted and ready to eat, unsalted – bulk – from the health food store.

Leave a comment