Blueberry Peach Sonker


Really?
I didn’t know what a “sonker” was either until I looked up what was closest to what I’d made.
Just think of it as a cobbler on it’s head, I did. So, when I looked up an inverted cobbler, I found Pandowdys, grunts and a sonker, which seemed closest to what was baking in my oven.
But please, if you have any suggestions, I’m open.

This time of year I seem to have ample berries on hand that I don’t have to ration when it comes to snacks. I’ll typically set out a big bowl of each of what I have on for breakfast and see where we’re at by mid-day
After lunch, I looked across a messy table to a bowl of blueberries and half a plate of freshly sliced peaches.

It’s already known that blueberries and peaches are a match made in heaven – or in August around these parts, but still, I couldn’t help imagine what I would do with them next.

I was thinking cobbler, but wanted something a little more plateable for an afternoon tea with our neighbour and so, the “Sonker” is where we evolved. A crumbly biscuit like cake, perfect for soaking up those juices, that’s sweet, but not too much and topped with a good layer of fruit, zest of lemon and sprinkling of sugar.

Pretty simple, but impressive and delicious, especially with a dollop of “cream”, iced or not.

BLUEBERRY PEACH SONKER

1/2 Cup Earth Balance (Butter)
1/2 Cup Granulated Sugar
1/2 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
1 teaspoon Baking Powder
1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
1/2 teaspoon Salt
1 1/2 Cups All Purpose Flour
1/2 Whole Wheat Flour
1 Cup Soy Milk
1 Tablespoon Lemon Juice
1 Cup Blueberries
2 Cups Peaches, pitted & sliced, about 4
3 Tablespoons Brown Sugar, packed
Zest of 1/2 Lemon, optional

Preheat the oven to 350ºF.
Grease and flour an 8″ round cake pan.
Cream the butter with the granulated sugar until well combined and fluffy.
Add the vanilla to incorporate.
Add the salt, baking powder, baking soda and 1/2 cup of flour.
Add 1/2 cup of soy milk and mix well.
Add another cup of the flour and once incorporated, the remainder of the milk followed by the last of the flour to form a thick batter.
Spoon the batter into the prepared pan. Use a spatula, which has been dipped in water, to spread evenly to the edges.
Top with the sliced peaches and blueberries. Sprinkle over the zest and evenly distribute the brown sugar.
Bake for 60 minutes, or until a cake tester can be cleanly removed from the center.

Published by

Dayna

I'm a chef, food stylist, cancer survivor, recipe developer, art director and photographer. My obsession for food, how it looks and makes me healthier has driven my passion for chronicling my journey through photos. Find more about me on: http://restarteating.com http://veganvisitor.com or my portfolio at: http://www.foodandphotography.com

10 thoughts on “Blueberry Peach Sonker”

  1. Just stubbled upon your blog to see this amazing AMAZING A M A Z I N G looking dessert. Oh my goodness. I’m going to have to keep my eye on your blog!

  2. “Snorker”. Now there’s something I haven’t tried.
    Somehow it doesn’t sound overly appetizing, but hey, neither did “sonker”.
    But if it’s dessert, I’ll eat it!

    Thanks Annie. Browse and come again. I hope you try something you like!

  3. The upsidedowness of it is a great idea. And that picture with the ice cream on top is killing me. Amazing!

  4. She whipped it together while simultaneously chatting with me, keeping an eye on her two and my two kids, and photographing the results.

    And the results were lovely, as you can imagine!

  5. This looks beautiful.

    Had to laugh at the earlier discussion. Snorkers are sausages in the UK – not sure how a blueberry and peach version would pan out!

  6. I made two bathes today and got a great response but I want to make it better. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used whole milk instead of soy milk. The bake time was 1.5 hours because the dough was still gooey after 1 hour. This could be from stacking the peaches so tight and all the juices they released kept the dough extra moist. Has anyone tried using sour cream or buttermilk to replace the milk or in addition?

  7. I made this today (after searching tastespotting for blueberry recipes) and when I got done, I realized I still had the tbsp of lemon juice left! Where does it go? Mine’s baking right now, so hopefully no harm done!
    No harm done. It’s there to help make the cake batter rise a little higher. Put truth be told, I made this again two days ago and deliberately left it out with no consequence.
    I also used an extra peach and another handful of berries and put the whole thing in a 9×13 dish to serve more people and it worked out with great and got me a few “mmm’s” to boot.
    I hope you enjoy it!

  8. I’ve been researching these old desserts and am really having fun — I just made a pandowdy. Your sonker is gorgeous! I love the fruit combo in it. Delicious!

Leave a comment