Not Your Aunt’s Creamy Potato Salad

The bounty cometh, it is summer after all. Not only is it the season for all things grown fresh it’s also BBQ, picnic, firework celebrations and stay up late season.

With company on it’s way, I wanted a classic tasty side to go with all things grilled and what summer meal would be complete without a potato salad? I’ve made a potato salad with a vinaigrette before but this time I was more craving the old fashioned creamy style only lighter.

I like potato salad when it’s still barely warm, but this can easily be cooled and packed perfectly for a picnic.

CREAMY POTATO SALAD WITH AVOCADO

1 1/2 Lbs New Potatoes, scrubbed
1 Large Ripe Avocado
Juice of 1/2 Lemon
1/4 teaspoon Kosher Salt, or to taste
Freshly Ground Black Pepper
2 Tablespoons Mixed Chopped Herbs, Try dill&chives, cilantro&scapes or parsley&tarragon – or mix and match them all together.

Steam the potatoes until they are just fork tender but al dente.
Cool until the potatoes can be handled, then quarter.
Peel and dice the avocado and combine with the potatoes and lemon juice in a large bowl.
Stir in the herbs, then season with salt and pepper to taste.
Toss well to coat everything and to break down some of the softened avocado.

Serves 4-6

Published by

Dayna

I'm a chef, food stylist, cancer survivor, recipe developer, art director and photographer. My obsession for food, how it looks and makes me healthier has driven my passion for chronicling my journey through photos. Find more about me on: http://restarteating.com http://veganvisitor.com or my portfolio at: http://www.foodandphotography.com

18 thoughts on “Not Your Aunt’s Creamy Potato Salad”

  1. Yummy, I’ve been thinking of making the potato salad just like this one from Vegan Brunch. I love the idea of potato and avocado together.
    Mmm. I haven’t heard of Vegan Brunch. Obviously some good stuff in there:) I’ll have to check it out.

  2. AVOCADO?! In Potato Salad? That is brilliant – never occurred to me! – but I must try it. I’m craving some good potato salad but have no desire to consume an entire jar-full of mayonnaise in the process. It is swimsuit season after all:) Always looking for ways to sneak in healthful ingredients and avocado is undeniably one of them. THANKS!

  3. Thanks everyone for the great comments.
    I just wanted to remind those who are planning to make it soon that it’s best eaten right away. Even though there is a good amount of lemon juice the avocado will still brown a bit making your salad a little less pretty for leftovers…

    It all got devoured here though. Let me know how you enjoy it.

  4. Lol at not your aunts potato salad. This is a good idea without all the bad fat inside and it really adds something special with the avocados.
    Tay.
    I do not know why a backlink doesn’t show up to my blog in wordpress. I have ppl wondering who I am:(

  5. Wow, wow, wow! This looks so delicious! The only downfall I could see to this potato salad is that leftovers might be a little less than appealing. But who cares with a salad this unique and yummy looking!
    Leftovers? There are no leftovers!

  6. I just made this! Oh wow! It is SOOO freaking good. I put fresh dill, garlic, the lemon juice, salt and pepper all in my mini food processor and then added the avocado and mixed until creamy, then added it to the potatoes. I literally licked the food processor clean. And the spoon. I can’t wait for dinner tonight!

Leave a comment