New Potato Salad With Scape Salsa Verde


Of course with a long weekend ahead I would be lost without a handy potato salad recipe, so here it is.
I’m sure not too many of you miss the heavy mayo laden with egg and celery version but not to fret, I’m sure it will still be offered – somewhere, you can just bring this along to the BBQ instead.

Easy, light and FRESH I’ve finally found another way to use up those tasty garlic scapes as the main ingredient in this salsa verde style dressing.

NEW POTATO SALAD WITH SCAPE SALSA VERDE

3 Lbs New Red Potatoes
8-10 Garlic Scapes, trimmed
1/4 Cup Basil Leaves, packed
1/3 Cup Flat Leaf Parsley, packed
1 Tablespoon Capers, about 30
1 teaspoon Dijon Mustard
1 Tablespoon Red Wine Vinegar
4 Tablespoons Olive Oil
1/4 teaspoon Salt, or to taste
Freshly Ground Black Pepper, to taste

Wash and boil the potatoes in a large pot with enough water to cover.
Cook potatoes until just tender, or al dente, so you are able to cut through them easily.
Meanwhile, trim the seed buds from the top of the scapes and discard.
Combine the scapes along with the basil and parsley, pulsing to finely chop.
Add the capers, mustard, salt, pepper and vinegar, continuing to blend while drizzling in the oil through the feed tube.
Scrape down from the sides, taste and adjust salt and pepper if necessary.
Drain the potatoes. Once they are cool enough to handle quarter them into even sized wedges, unless they are very small.
Add the potatoes to a large bowl and add about half of the dressing at first. Toss well to coat adding more to your liking.
Serve at room temperature.

Want more potato salad? Try my other, Warm New Potato Dandelion Greens Salad, if you still have a few weeds that need eating from your yard.

Published by

Dayna

I'm a chef, food stylist, cancer survivor, recipe developer, art director and photographer. My obsession for food, how it looks and makes me healthier has driven my passion for chronicling my journey through photos. Find more about me on: http://restarteating.com http://veganvisitor.com or my portfolio at: http://www.foodandphotography.com

11 thoughts on “New Potato Salad With Scape Salsa Verde”

  1. gorgeous photography, as always!
    And the recipe sounds very tempting. I’ve been thinking about making a potato salad for a while now and now that I see this one I think I just might =)

  2. thanks for the recipe! i just came across your blog today looking for a recipe to use the garlic scapes that i picked up from the farmers’ market. this was really tasty!!

  3. Being an Ozzie, what is Garlic scapes? I ain’t ever heard of them before, however, the spud salad looks light but beautiful…

    Thanks Lil…

  4. Garlic scapes are the sprouts that shoot up from the garlic bulbs in spring. They are crisp and curl, tasting of zesty fresh garlic. It’s best picked before the plant goes to seed.
    I hope you can find them at a local market. They’re pretty tasty!

  5. can you substitute garlic? I will look for them, but if I can’t find it?
    These are the spring shoots that the garlic produces in the spring. If you can find scapes, buy a few, make the pesto and freeze it!
    Otherwise, you could substitute a smaller amount of actual garlic, but it would be much stronger. You might want to try a more traditional pesto recipe with only a few cloves, scallions or your favourite herb, like basil.

    Here is one of my favourites from the site:
    Spinach Pesto

  6. Mind if I ask why it is SCAPE SALSA VERDE?
    Salsa verde is a multi-culture mixture generally called “green sauce”. It’s often served cold and it’s rustic in preparation. This may not be typically Italian as the French and many other cultures eat the tender green garlic seed shoots, but I found the name would be the most descriptive in so people might imagine the fresh flavour.
    I hope you get a chance to try it this spring!

  7. I never thought scape salsa verde will suite potato salad well. I just did this recipe now, and I am very agitated to learn that it is a perfect match!
    I’m sorry that I agitated you – but I am very happy you enjoyed it!

Leave a comment